ZOOM EXTENTS - DXF FILES

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

ZOOM EXTENTS - DXF FILES

Postby Richard Sands » Sun May 21, 2006 11:19 pm

I created an FG project in 2005 by selecting info. I used window to select data. Uploaded to Ipaq. Opening FG job (dxf imported) zoomed to some ridiculous extent where whole job was a 'pin prick'.

I redid the project again in 2005. Uploaded & opened in FG but didn't include dxf file. Zoomed OK. Added the dxf and zoomed as described first. Not sure what is happening here.

I add the obvious - I checked to see if there were any stray objects etc in the MSCAD job before creating FG project and as far as I am aware there were none.

regards

Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Postby Darcy Detlor » Mon May 22, 2006 8:27 pm

Hi Richard,

I have seen this behaviour before where it was caused by an attribute in the drawing file. I am pretty sure there is something in that DXF file that is causing the problem with the zooming in FG. If you can, send me the DXF file as I would like to take a look at it.
Darcy Detlor,
President,
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
[email protected]
User avatar
Darcy Detlor
Site Admin
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 10:14 am
Location: West Kelowna, BC

ZOOM EXTENTS- DXF

Postby Richard Sands » Tue May 23, 2006 12:49 am

Thanks Darcy. Will send.
I have had this happen before. I'll see if its still on FG and send that also.
Regards Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Postby cadrum » Tue May 23, 2006 9:10 am

I've brought a few dxf's from LDD into FG 2005 and almost every time I get similar results of zooming out much wider than anything in the drawing. I just think of it as a quirk and window back in to where I need to be. I also recently saw a large size subdivision dxf that took a long time to load into FG 2006 on a new Allegro color screen. That is, when it would load. It kept wanting to crash. That same large dxf on the same Allegro would load into Carlson SurvCE in seconds so I think this is an area that may still need looking into.
cadrum
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2003 6:35 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Postby mlbrack » Thu May 25, 2006 1:57 pm

Easily solved.

Saving as a R12 .dxf saves the hatches in a wierd way. They come in with sort of a hidden origin of 0,0.

Either delete your hatches or exlode then (makes much larger .dxf files). Zoom to extents will work properly.
mlbrack
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:36 pm


Return to FieldGenius

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron