some suggestions for FG2008

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

some suggestions for FG2008

Postby Cheng » Sat May 10, 2008 7:49 am

Hi Jason,

We have bought FG 2008. As a field surveyor, I personally prefer FG than others such as TopSURV etc. However, through different versions of your FG (I have used XG1.5,XG2.0 and FG2005), I prefer XG2.0 for topo work (its user interface is more practical than other versions). I believe that a good field surveying software should be more efficient and practical using in the field, not only have full necessary functions but also easy to operate. Comparatively, I feel some operations in FG2008 is still less efficient and practical. Here are some functions I wish to be improved in your future version:

(1) Horizontal ANGLE OFFSET
A. In SDR33, only need 3 steps: F1 (to select the mode),(sight prism )shoot(distance),(sight centre) shoot(angle), press <OK> (optional) to store the point (and then automatically return to sideshot function) or just SHOOT to get next sideshot point.
B. In your FG 2008, need at list 8 steps : shortcut key (to select the mode), click <Measure> for ready to shoot angle, (sight centre) shoot(angle), click <Measure> again for ready to shoot distance, (sight prism) shoot (distance), click <Store> , click <OK> to finally store the point but still remain in Angle Offset MENU. Click <Close> to Sideshot menu.
I think the following steps will be more practical: shortcut key (to select the mode) and pop up 2 buttons <ANGLE> and <DISTANCE>, click <ANGLE> or ENTER key to get angle (checked or show measurement when done), click <DISTANCE> or ENTER key to get distance(checked or show measurement when done), then automatically turn to store point menu, click <Store> to save and return back to sideshot screen Also it should allow UP/DOWN keys to switch between <ANGLE> and <DISTANCE> for shooting either ANGLE or DISTANCE first