Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby getrsurveyed » Fri Mar 06, 2009 8:50 am

I got the Tracker three years ago .. still original battery but it seems
to hold a charge ok, I don't use it everyday. Its has always had the
problem where it won't turn on without removing the battery and making
it hard reset. I've cleaned the contacts, bent the contacts up & made the
air turn blue for a 100 foot radius.. nothing seems to work. Now its almost
everytime .. it won't turn on without removing battery pack.

I love the program just hate the box its in. I'm going to try installing
some AA's and see if it continues.

Any thoughts..? solutions found ? I don't want to $buy$ an Allegro.

Thanks, Steven
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Postby CHRIS L » Fri Mar 06, 2009 9:27 am

you may try shooting a email over to Two Technologies and see if they have any idea.

http://www.2t.com/support.htm website

[email protected] email
CHRIS L
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:45 am
Location: ILLINOIS

Postby getrsurveyed » Fri Mar 06, 2009 10:34 am

Thanks Chris, I have notified them also.. just wondering how
common this is or if someone has come up with a solution.
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Postby getrsurveyed » Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:12 am

Two Tech replied with this...

"You will need to contact MicroSurvey regarding this product. They will assist you with any questions and support of the product.

Thank you.

Elizabeth Batista
Technical Services Manager"
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Postby surveysmith » Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:26 am

I've had my Tracker Extreme for two years without experiencing that problem. I do not use it every day. I like it more than any collector so far. The only problem I have is battery life. I keep rechargeable AAs as a backup. It always turns on and boots just fine. Try the batteries. They do have a certain lifespan, and it might have reached it.
surveysmith
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:59 am
Location: near Albany, NY

Postby getrsurveyed » Thu Mar 19, 2009 11:43 am

Two Tech had suggested getting new foam inserts.. which I never even
noticed but I added some of my own (white squares, 1/8" thick) and
it has helped but I have had to pull the battery once since doing this.
I still need to try the AA batteries... and I should just get a new nicad.

Image
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Postby getrsurveyed » Fri Mar 27, 2009 9:00 am

Just an update... Two Tech is listening, they sent me some foam inserts
very much like the ones I installed... Thanks.

I installed six AA's last week and have not have a problem so far..
which makes me think it is a contact issue.. wish they would have
made the battery plug into a connector and I'll bet this issue would
never have come up.
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Postby Gord » Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:41 am

Better yet, I wish they would just make the wiring inside such that you can put in rechargeable AA's and be able to plug it in to charge. All that's in the battery pack is 6 NIMH AA's but the Tracker is designed so that it won't charge with a bunch of AA's in it due to the fact that they can't trust the end user to be smart enough to not plug the thing into the charger with 6 alkaline batteries in it.
Gord
Keatley Surveying Ltd.
Manitoulin Island
www.keatley.msdcorp.com
Gord
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:41 am
Location: Manitoulin Island

Postby CHRIS L » Tue Mar 31, 2009 1:34 pm

Gord wrote: they can't trust the end user to be smart enough to not plug the thing into the charger with 6 alkaline batteries in it.


Everything these days has to be Idiot proof.
CHRIS L
 
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:45 am
Location: ILLINOIS

Postby getrsurveyed » Wed Apr 22, 2009 5:04 pm

OK .. the AA batterys worked great for about a week then they died..

So I went back to the standard pack with the foam inserts installed
and have not had a problem since... the inserts press it firmly
against the contacts. If I have any more problems I think I will
direct wire it to a plug.
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Re: Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby getrsurveyed » Thu Apr 29, 2010 5:02 am

UPDATE.....

Two weeks ago I finally direct wired the battery into the Tracker "thinking" this would eliminate
the lock up problem... went fine till yesterday when it locked up again. Had to un-solder the
wire, replace the battery and reboot. Now I'm baffeled. It's not a contact issue ! Has to be the
software or a hardware issue within the Tracker.

Image
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Re: Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby surveysmith » Sun May 02, 2010 6:53 am

I am using the Tracker Extreme (for a few years now) and I have not had any reboot issues. I use rechargeable AA batteries. I do not have any solutions for you.
surveysmith
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2004 4:59 am
Location: near Albany, NY

Re: Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby Richard Sands » Sun May 02, 2010 2:04 pm

how do you connect to an instrument?
I find if I just push the 9 pin plug in and not screw it up (or just loosely) then this often causes reboot.
Is your 9 pin port in good condition? Your cable? Your port on your instrument?
regards
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby getrsurveyed » Sun May 02, 2010 3:51 pm

Richard,

I have a Topcon GTS-303D with the nine pin plug which has always been a PIA to connect to
with the Tracker, sometimes first try.. other times it takes many tries before getting a connection.
I did replace the port in the gun a few years back and the cable is as old as the Tracker.
I've never had the Tracker reboot (If thats what your saying) when plugging it in .. just lock up
at random. I'm the only one using this equipment too.

I could through some more money at it and buy a new port and cable. It could also be a fault in
the battery pack too. I think I'll try a new battery but I really don't think that is going to solve it
as it locked up with the AA's also.

Thanks, Steven
getrsurveyed
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:59 pm
Location: Cambridge Oh

Re: Tracker Reboot Issues .. again

Postby Richard Sands » Mon May 03, 2010 12:51 am

Steven I have had the Tracker reboot for no reason while I am using the total station and Field Genius.
I now velcro the cable to the legs so there isn't any slack and it doesn't wobble the plug on the gun.
same for the 9 pin plug on the tracker. That causes a reboot if I don't secure the screws.
I have never had battery issues, other than they don't last long and that with wireless and bluetooth both OFF.
I have had it lock up only occasionally, but its mainly the reboot problem I encounter.
I may be off mark here.
regards
Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania


Return to FieldGenius

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron