google earth image

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

google earth image

Postby ksnively » Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:13 am

Has anyone done a google earth image as a background? If so, how did you get the world file? I am using state plane 83 oregon north coordinates.
ksnively
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:05 am

Postby mlbrack » Tue Jun 02, 2009 6:51 am

I don' t think there is any way to get a world file directly from GE. Maybe the pro version but not the free appliation.

If you have ACAD Civil you can import a georeferenced image from GE.

If you want georeferenced photos, check out http://seamless.usgs.gov/index.php or http://terraserver-usa.com/

Most open source imagry is going to by UTM, metric, NAD83. You'll have to translate the coordinates somehow to get them to SP. You could do this more or less manually using CORPSON or automatically with ACAD or similar.
mlbrack
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 1:36 pm

Postby Brian Sloman » Tue Jun 02, 2009 10:59 am

Hi, I put together a brief article in our Helpdesk a while ago describing how to get this from Google Earth using some helper applications because Google Earth on its own doesn't export the world files, only the image. Or as Mike suggested, there are better sources such as terraserver or the usgs site.
http://microsurvey.com/helpdesk/index.p ... icleid=296
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada


Return to FieldGenius

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron