FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby davidmitchell » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:40 am

I'm running FG 2008 on a data collector.

When I attempt to import an .xyz file the system 'locks up' -- there is no activity in the 'import progress' bar (>15 minutes). I have to do a warm boot of the data collector to get out out of FG. I've had this same problem on both the Allegro CE and CX.

FWIW: I am creating the .xyz using a Mac CAD product called PowerCADD. The .xyz files seem 'normal' -- I can read them in both MSWord and Excel and the format (pt#, N, E, Z, desc) looks normal.

Any help?
davidmitchell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:12 pm

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby Richard Sands » Wed Feb 03, 2010 6:25 pm

have you looked at in Notepad (assume Mac has similar)
A simple text program might show some strange things that FG doesn't like.
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby davidmitchell » Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:47 pm

I've opened the .xyz in Notepad. Nothing looks 'abnormal'. The fields appear to be separated by tabs (as opposed to commas or spaces). Between records is a small rectangle - could this be a version of a carriage return? Or is this the problem I'm looking for? Sorry, I am not very familiar with PC conventions. Can I provide any more information that might be helpful?

Thanks
davidmitchell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:12 pm

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby Jason Poitras » Wed Feb 03, 2010 11:13 pm

I haven't tried a tab delimited file for a while now, but I would try a space or comma delimited file instead. I'm certain that will work.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
[email protected]
User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby davidmitchell » Mon Feb 08, 2010 5:54 am

I've created a comma delimited file but still cannot import it into Field Genius

When I try to import, I'm getting a long error dialog box that starts:

Field Genius WCE MFC Application has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

the dialog then asks me to send the error report.

Do I have a setting/setup issue or something else?

thanks
davidmitchell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:12 pm

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby Brian Sloman » Tue Feb 09, 2010 6:30 pm

Hi, if you're seeing little rectangles in the file when you view it in a text editor then that is probably the problem. How many points are in your file, can you go through it manually to remove the little rectangle characters? Or, you may be able to open your ascii file in another program (ie, rename it to .txt then open it in your word processor application) and then copy/paste the contents into a new file in your text editor. If you can view the file so that it looks like the following (no little rectangle characters), then you should be able to import it.

1,1000,1000,100,desc
2,1100,1100,100,desc
3,1200,1200,100,desc
etc...
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby davidmitchell » Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:01 pm

I've rid myself of the little rectangles. I have a clean, comma delimited .xyz file just like the one you describe, I try to import it and I get the error message.

Can I send someone a file?

David
davidmitchell
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2009 2:12 pm

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby Jason Poitras » Wed Feb 10, 2010 4:54 am

Create a support ticket and someone in the support department can take a look at it. You can attach the file to the ticket.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
[email protected]
User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby BobKrohn » Wed Jul 13, 2011 9:59 pm

Just curious, was a bug or fix found?
BobKrohn
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 11:12 am

Re: FG 2008 and importing .xyz

Postby Jason Poitras » Thu Jul 14, 2011 7:38 am

I don't think it was a bug, as far we know the ASCII importer is working fine.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
[email protected]
User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada


Return to FieldGenius

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest