Allegro mx freezes

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Allegro mx freezes

Postby GBS » Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:44 am

I am fairly new to using the allegro mx. When I go to stake a line using a total station, the first time is fine but if i try to do it a second time it freezes up and i have to re-set and get totally right out before it unfreezes.

What are possible causes of this? Can a low total station battery cause this?
GBS

Re: Allegro mx freezes

Postby Brian Sloman » Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:55 am

Hi, I've see this happen with some devices including the Allegro MX after returning from its low-power (suspend) mode, for example if the data collector is physically turned off then back on while still connected to the instrument, or if the device goes into its automatic suspend mode after x minutes of inactivity. You can either disable this or increase the time before it will kick in, by tapping on Start menu | Settings, System tab, Power icon.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
Brian Sloman
Product Manager

Postby DKNTEC » Wed Feb 17, 2010 4:03 pm

When it freezes after the suspend or sleep mode, tap the instument Settings button in upper right corner of main FG screen, which brings up the Instrument Settings Toolbar.
In lower left of that toolbar, tap the "Disconnect Instrument" button, which then changes to "Connect to Instrument".
Tap on it again to Connect, & you should be reconnected & working again.

At least that's what I found with my Tracker FG2007 on a Sokkia Set5 gun.

On mine, rather than disable the sleep mode completely, which leaves the Data Collector always on,
I extended the time before it goes into sleep mode to 10 minutes.
That way, if I leave the gun for more than a few minutes, it shuts off the Data Collector to conserve battery (an issue with Trackers).