No Zeiss drivers?

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
jmahun
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 4:48 pm

No Zeiss drivers?

Post by jmahun » Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:45 pm

I recently finished upgrading our Trackers to FG2005. Zeiss doesn't appear as an option in the total station selection in this version.

User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Jason Poitras » Mon Jun 20, 2005 12:24 pm

Hello,

We removed the Zeiss option in FieldGenius 2005. We have to put our resources into supporting instruments that most of our customers are using, unfortunately the Zeiss isn't one of them.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
jason.poitras@microsurvey.com

jmahun
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 4:48 pm

Post by jmahun » Fri Jun 24, 2005 9:48 am

Well, we bought 13 Field Trackers to support our classes and I was assured by the sales person our two Zeiss Elta R50s were supported by the data collectors. They were in FG 2004, but aren't now in the FG 2005 upgrade. Our two total stations (both of which are <5 years old) have now been orphaned. I understand that you need to respond to market needs, but the support for the Zeiss instruments already existed - what savings was there in removing it?
So what do I do now? Revert back to FG 2004?
Jerry Mahun
Madison Area Technical College

User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Jason Poitras » Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:26 am

Hi Jerry,

Did you try it with FG2004? Our understanding was that is didn't work so we removed it as an option so people looking at FieldGenius 2005 wouldn't bother trying it.

If it did work let me know. Tthe driver still exists in FieldGenius 2005 and all we would need to do is add it back to the instrument list in the next maintenance release of FieldGenius.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
jason.poitras@microsurvey.com

jmahun
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2003 4:48 pm

Post by jmahun » Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:55 am

I hadn't enough time between receiving the data collectors and the upgrade to FG 2005 to do field trials for all my total stations and the Trackers (we started intergrating them into the classes this last Spring). I had hooked the data collectos to the instruments to see if they would at least communicate with each other and that seemed to work. I admit I should have been more thorough initially but I was assured prioir to purchase that the Trackers and my Zeiss instruments were compatible.
Jerry Mahun

Bill Tellier
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Post by Bill Tellier » Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:04 pm

Jason Said:

We removed the Zeiss option in FieldGenius 2005. We have to put our resources into supporting instruments that most of our customers are using, unfortunately the Zeiss isn't one of them.

Hey Jason,

I still use Both of my Zeiss S20 Robots, but unfortunately am stuck with NO UPGRADE OPTIONS and am currently using the XG version. I have been told that you would eventually have a new Zeiss driver, but that has not happened. The reason for this is the fact that the existing driver was too unstable for the robotic functions..How about a driver for just a DIRECT CONNECTION so we can use the latest version of FG just as if we had a servo driven instrument?

Thanks,

Bill Tellier

User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Jason Poitras » Tue Jul 26, 2005 11:28 am

Hello,

Jerry is going to send us his instrument which makes it a lot easier for us to fix the driver.

Bill - Do you know if the R 50 driver would work with your instrument?
Jason Poitras
General Manager
jason.poitras@microsurvey.com

Bill Tellier
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Post by Bill Tellier » Thu Aug 11, 2005 6:21 am

Hi Jason,

Sorry for the late reply, too darn busy,..No the R50 driver will not work with the Zeiss Robot..It has a separate program that runs on the instrument that lets it communicate to the FG program..Can this program be retrieved from the old XG version and tested with the latest version?

As always,

THANKS!

Bill Tellier

Post Reply