Groups

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Groups

Postby Bill Tellier » Thu Feb 27, 2003 11:08 am

When I create a group of objects how come they are not saved with the drawing? Everytime I open the drawing I have to group the same objects over again. :(

BT
Bill Tellier
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Groups

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Feb 27, 2003 1:06 pm

I just created a Group in my current drawing. I saved the drawing and exited the program, reloaded the program and the job. I run the Group command and List the group and my group is there. With the group set to selectable I was able to pick on 1 object in the group and the entire group was selected.

It appears to work fine in MSCAD2002 SP#2 for me.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Groups

Postby Bill Tellier » Thu Feb 27, 2003 3:51 pm

Hi Glen,
I'm pretty sure I have SP#2 loaded, the build date is Jul 26, 2002. Is there any toggles that need to be set to save the groups with the drawing?

Thanks,

BT
Bill Tellier
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Groups

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:53 pm

July 26, 2002 would be Service Patch #2. I am not aware of any toggles or anything that would affect a group saving or not saving in the current drawing. I didn't set anything and my copy runs like a new copy from the CD would, and it saved correctly for me. Strange it does not work for you. You are just typing in the command Group and picking create?

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Thu Feb 27, 2003 6:57 pm

I have not tried grouping objects before and found it worked fine.
It did remember the group names. I made two different groups and
it remember them both.

Now I did see something. Do you make copy of these groups.

I tried this and the program gave each group it own name. *A0, *A1, *A2

This made a longer list and it move the first to names up and out of
view.

The program even remembered these copies. I had to use explode
to remove those copied names.

I did you pick YES to SELECTABLE .

I have just learned something new. I wasn't sure what it was used for,
but for moving and rotating a complex house on a lot with a lot of other
information on the lot that you don't want to move. It works great.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Fri Feb 28, 2003 5:52 am

Saved drawing in Autocad2000 found that it saved the names great new tool.

Now why don't we have HighLight in Mscad

Yes if you pick on the group it hightlights.

Please add to the list for 2003
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Highlight

Postby Glen Cameron » Fri Feb 28, 2003 9:13 am

MSCAD does have a HIGHLIGHT command. It is actually a variable to turn highlighting on and off so when you pick something it highlights it, or not.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Fri Feb 28, 2003 9:42 am

Very good, but when I pick on a group the program does not till me
which group its in .

You can list a group, but where is it.

You pick on a group, but what group does it belong to.

Do you see what I am getting at.

What is the hightlight command that will tell me all of this.

I have a short memory and have thought of a lot of uses, but only
if I can view the groups where they are in the drawing.
Last edited by rwhatman on Sun Mar 02, 2003 6:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Groups

Postby Bill Tellier » Fri Feb 28, 2003 9:43 am

Yep, saved the groups as selectable and have tried about everything possible. This is very perplexing. I have MScad on a Win 98SE machine, and yes it crashes quite often, probably due to bad memory management on the OS side. I have the hardware lock, but have not uninstalled/reinstalled the program to other computers. The next machine it goes on will have Win XP. I'll keep you up to date on what occurs.

Thanks,

BT
Bill Tellier
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Postby rwhatman » Mon Mar 03, 2003 10:48 am

Bill

Check to see if the Group program is really working.

Type GROUPSEL

It should be set to 1

It may have been turned off to 0

I turned it off and found that the program did show the groups,
but they where not really there.

Last guess
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Groups

Postby Bill Tellier » Mon Mar 03, 2003 4:17 pm

rwhatman

I did the GROUPSEL command and it is set to 1..Don't know what to do with this until someone else experiences the same thing, maybe then tech support can figure it out.

Thanks for the help!

BT
Bill Tellier
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

Goups

Postby Glen Cameron » Mon Mar 03, 2003 5:45 pm

Start a new drawing - draw 6 lines - group 3 of them and save the drawing.

Email me the drawing - ([email protected]) tell me which 3 lines you grouped and what group name you called them.

Then I can look at the drawing and see if I can spot anything.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Solution

Postby Glen Cameron » Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:11 am

For those following the thread.

Bill and I have figured out the problem. He was saving in AutoCAD R12 DWG format and that format of DWG does not support groups. If he saves in FLX or R2000 DWG format then the groups are saved with the drawing and work fine when the drawing is reopened.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron