Freezing/Thawing Layers in Viewport

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
James Armstrong
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:22 pm
Location: TN

Freezing/Thawing Layers in Viewport

Post by James Armstrong » Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:31 pm

What is the best way to freeze/thaw one or a few layers in a viewport in MS CAD2005?
ja

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Thu Apr 06, 2006 3:40 am

Model Space has a issue. Freezing and Thawing.

Very easy to do both.

The main problem is there is no Lock.

You can freeze it and then thaw it and not see it.

There is one thing that show up when it Thaws is the X, Y, Z display changes.


Maybe will see a fix soon.

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Glen Cameron » Thu Apr 06, 2006 5:01 am

To freeze/thaw a layer within a Layout Viewport, you need to first open the Layer Explorer.
Then, on the right side across the top, you will see column headers:

Layer Name:Color:Linetype:On/Off:Locked:All Viewports:Lineweights:Print_style:Print:Current Viewport:New Viewports

The Current Viewport column is the one that controls if the layer will be frozen or thawed in the layout viewport you are currently working in. It will only freeze or thaw that viewport - the rest of the drawing is untouched.

If you wish to make that layer frozen in any New Viewports you create from this point forward, then the New Viewports column will control this for you.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

James Armstrong
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 4:22 pm
Location: TN

Freezing/Thawing Layers in Viewport

Post by James Armstrong » Tue Jun 27, 2006 7:16 am

When I go to the layers in the Viewport, the layer I'm interested in shows that it is thawed in the Current column; however, it is not showing up in the Viewport. Any other suggestions?

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Glen Cameron » Tue Jun 27, 2006 7:39 am

A Layer can be frozen in All Viewports but still show as Thawed in the Current Viewport. The All Viewport option will over-ride the Current Viewport. Be sure it is thawed in both cases - then if it needs to be frozen in another viewport, freeze it via the Current Viewport.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Post Reply