Suggested improvement to Help & Documentaion

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Suggested improvement to Help & Documentaion

Postby Alex Leonard » Sat Jun 10, 2006 2:26 pm

This message is prompted by Cathy's last post and reflects my experience as 2-month-new user of both MS-Cad2005 and Field Genius2006.
My qualifications for making the comments below: I am not new to 3D-CAD, and I have nearly 30 years experience with computers as both developer and end-user.
I have very recently made a career change into the world of surveying, and overall I am very happy with my choice to buy and use the MS products. But this post is about how to document a complex computer application - its got nothing to do with surveying or surveying applications per se.

My oservation is this: MS-CAD/IntelliCad is essentially command-line driven. All menu selections, tool-bars, wizards and so forth are proxies for the underlying command line. To really use the program effectively you have to at least know (very well) the command line. This is fine. Except that the MSCad Help files are insufficient to get you there.

Like Cathy (the last poster to this bulletin borad), I too spent DAYS struggling to get rid of those pesky point numbers so I could see what I was doing on-screen (sure they are also really useful in some situations) - did I know that they are IPN's? No. How would I do a help search to find the IPN toolbar button unless I knew that that is what they are called (searching "point number" doesn't work - try it). It took a call to the (very helpful and good-natured) support team to answer this simplest of questions. But those calls should be reserved for the tough questions and bug-reports - not the little stuff.