Defining Basepoint for block insertion

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Defining Basepoint for block insertion

Postby camland » Wed Sep 20, 2006 1:45 pm

Simple scenerio:
I have a box (1m x 1m). One corner is at 0,0,0. I save it as a.dwg

When I insert that drawing (using INSYM) I want the corner of my box (COrner that is 0,0,0) to be at my mouse crosshairs. But is is not, it is way off in no mans land. INSBASE is 0,0,0.

What am I missing?
Chad
camland
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 9:00 am

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Sep 21, 2006 4:33 am

Did you check the INSBASE in the symbol as well as the drawing you are inserting into? If the symbol has INSBASE set to something other than 0,0,0 then the symbol will insert as you have described.

I tried your scenerio, as described, and it worked perfectly for me as long as INSBASE in the symbol was also set to 0,0,0. As soon as I created a symbol with an INSBASE set to non 0,0,0 then it did what you described.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests