GRAPHIC COORDINATE EDITOR - GROUPS

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

GRAPHIC COORDINATE EDITOR - GROUPS

Postby rwhatman » Thu Apr 10, 2003 4:16 pm

Today I used the Graphic Coordinate Editor to do something new.

I created a dummy group, then selected by description the points I wanted to define in groups. I then exited the editor, but did not ungroup.

I then typed the GROUP command and created, Named the group then
gave then a description for the group.

I then started the graphic editor and then exited and ungrouped the dummy group name.

I then started the graphic editor again and typed a new dummy name
and a new slection of points.

Now do see where I going with this.

If I was able to put a description to a group in the graphic editor I would be able to do it a lot faster.

How about a new option for the graphic editor where can add a description
to a group of points. The Graphic Editor would now have a expanded use.

The Active Database has almost replaced the graphic editor. I now see
a new use for the graphic editor.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby Jason Poitras » Fri Apr 11, 2003 6:00 am

Richard,

This is already on the list of things to add to the next version of MSCAD. It will be set up in such a way that after you make your selection set, you can give that selection a group name that can be recalled at anytime.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
[email protected]
User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Fri Apr 11, 2003 4:08 pm

Jason
Thanks for the info. MicroSurvey doesn't Post what its working on
for future enhancements.

So my idea is a good one.

Here is another idea that I bet you are not working on.

Someday I would like to put a sticky note on a object .

Example: Many plans are now getting too many notes on them and
and some of them are getting missed. The text is getting
turned off and may very important.
Which leads to a phone call .

I would like to be able to note: INVERT=202.63,
SIZE and put the DIRECTION OF THE FLOW of the
STORM SEWER.

This may be a bad example but not everything needs to be plotted anymore. The days of getting a plot and designing from a plot are gone. They now want to able build there new design from your work you email to them.

Something to look at in the future.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Defpoints layer

Postby T.M. Moretz » Sat Apr 12, 2003 2:49 pm

Richard,
I may be missing your point but there is a layer that is automatically created when using the Cad Dimensioning called Defpoints. The default color is white. The great thing about this layer is that it won't plot. If the layer is thawed and seen on your screen it still won't plot on your map. I make pertinent notes to myself for certain things all of the time in this layer because it's for me to see and to remind me each time I open the drawing. I have changed the color to a very ugly stand-out color to remind me that it's in this layer and won't be plotted.
T.M. Moretz
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 1:31 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Postby rwhatman » Sun Apr 13, 2003 6:02 am

Thanks, is it Tom

I have not used the CAD Dimensioning in years, if ever.
I only used MicroSurveys INCAD12 to todays MicroSurveys 2002.
All self taught so it's easy to see if I had missed something.

I read the questions on these Web board to learn as well give advise.

I did know that Color 255 that looks white does not plot.
I will have a look at what you said.

The real point I was trying to make was that I wanted to put
a note and not just a description internally on a point.

If you list a point you get a number of things and if put thoes points
in group the list show all that in the group. I want to be able to
put a Note: that will list there.

We did a topograhic survey a few months ago of a town house project.
They wanted everthing tied in as well as drawn. Water tapes. down spouts
window wells bottom and top, steps and so on. 2000 points or more.

I thought I had thought of everything. I had put every point in its own
layer. I thought one could just pick the point and see it all. I was wrong.

Question was the shot on the metal part of the window or was it on the
ground beside it.

A valid question since they wanted to use are plan in solving water problems in the complex.

There were many windows and a description was not good enough in
this case. Yes the anwser was that it was on the metal part of it.

There was no room on this plan for even halve of the description.

Yes I could have typed a note on the plan that does not plot. This
case there was no room for it.

The only other problem I had was that you don't know who will
end up with your plan. The person who got it did not use AutoCAD.

All the points came as a dot. The girl did know how to change the
node so you can see it better in her program.

When she found the node and pick it, she was very happy.
90% of the questions solved by just picking a node.

Now if there is a way to put a note there. I loved to hear about it.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Vnote

Postby T.M. Moretz » Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:06 am

I had read on at the German Fcad web site (http://www.fcad.de/cad_en/index.htm) that they have introduced a routine called Vnote which allows a user to insert a voice note into the drawing. I'm not sure how this would work but maybe you can start the routine, click the point, and record a message (microphone needed). After you finish making the note and close the routine an UNPLOTABLE and movable icon would insert next to the point - maybe the icon looks like a musical note or a big ear. Anyway, when you send the .Dwg to someone else they could click the icon and that would invoke Windows Media Player to play the Vnote (.WAV) you recorded for that point. The icon would take less space on the drawing but many Vnotes could make the drawing very large even if they were small messages.

Ted
T.M. Moretz
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 1:31 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

Voice Notes

Postby Glen Cameron » Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:50 am

We use this technology in our data collector right now. FG XG can record a voice note attached to teh point. When downloaded and brought into MSCAD you can play that note back by picking on the point then via the Point Editor Dialog, pick a button to replay that note.

This technology will be expanded upon in vuture versions.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Sun Apr 13, 2003 7:11 pm

Ted

VNOTE works great just what I was looking for.

I was to add a note to a point and I also saved a audio of it as well.

When I get back to work I will see how it works in a Autocad drawing.

Glen

I take it that it only works in MSCAD by typing VNOTE then push play
to hear the audio or display the text. If you click on the icon in MSCAD
it did not start the audio or display the text.
Now this Icon or block can I modify it. The Icon does not seem to mean
anthing. Doesn't really matter if I can't. I will just copy the icon to the legend .

Thanks Ted I have just learned something new thanks to you.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Vnote

Postby Glen Cameron » Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:50 am

As I mentioned above, this technology will be enhanced in future versions. Vnote is not tied into our database so you can not simply pick on it to have it run. You do need to run the Vnote command again to be able to view the note or hear the recording. The symbol can not be changed. It represents (I) for INFORMATION.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron