COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Postby Richard Sands » Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:34 pm

I'd suggest a message similar to copying points, copying between drawings etc for this. I see it 'as is' as quite useful but unless ther's a warning then one can get confused or misled.
regards, Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Postby rwhatman » Fri Jun 08, 2007 4:20 am

Richard Sands wrote:I'd suggest a message similar to copying points, copying between drawings etc for this. I see it 'as is' as quite useful but unless ther's a warning then one can get confused or misled.
regards, Richard


Hi Richard

You never copy points, you transfer points.

Points are in the database and to get them to a database you transfer.

If you copy points thats graphic, they go in the drawing, but not into
Database.

We still have 2 programs that work together. Till the day we have 1
program, then copy past will never work as many would like.

Back 10 years ago I had 3 program that work together and I miss it at times.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby Richard Sands » Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:40 pm

yes youre spot on and no, I never transfer points that way.
But, if you try to, or inadvertantly grab an elevation or description and copy between open jobs then that warning is invoked. Thats the warning I'd suggest in the COGO issue raised previously.
The 'Modify/ Copy (between drawings)' option was put there to avoid some hangups by the CAD method of copy and paste between drawings. Its a safe and useful routine, but still not for copying data base points.
regards, Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests