Joining 3d Polylines

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Wes Mossing
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Dec 08, 2002 3:39 pm
Location: Penticton, BC

Joining 3d Polylines

Post by Wes Mossing » Fri Apr 25, 2003 6:57 am

After exploding the different 3d polylines and using the p-edit command to join them it lists and looks as though everything is joined and fine. But if you view in 3d you will see that it draws the line at one elevation. It calculates fine and can be used as a break line in a surface so it appears to be just a video thing. Is this just me or what?

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

3D Polylines

Post by Glen Cameron » Fri Apr 25, 2003 7:36 am

Interesting. I was able to reproduce the same visual problem. As you mentioned, if you list the polyline it does maintain the correct elevations on each vertice, but when you view the polyline in 3D it does appear to be drawn all at one elevation.

This is probably because the PEDIT command is meant for 2D polylines not 3D, even though it does work.

I will pass this on to the programmers and see if they can modify this for a future revision.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Post Reply