3D, 3 point arcs. How do I do them?

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
JJ
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 11:15 pm

3D, 3 point arcs. How do I do them?

Post by JJ » Thu Jul 10, 2008 11:32 pm

I need to contour my 3 point arcs (surveyed in the field).
I have 3 3D points on my drawing which i want to join with a 3 point arc, but also need that arc to form a breakline for contouring.
I have been told to use 3D poly line but there is no option for creating arcs similar to what you get when creating 2D poly lines.
So, what is the correct way to do this??
Regards Jeff

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Glen Cameron » Fri Jul 11, 2008 12:28 pm

We do not have a 3D arc command available in the IntelliCAD engine that we use. The only option I can think of that MAY work would be to change your UCS to match the plane the 3D arc points are on, then draw a 2D arc on that plane - which is essentially a 3D arc then. Then switch back to the WCS and see if that does what you expect when generating a surface and drawing a tin.

Either that or you will need many more shots around the arc to approximate the arc with short chord segments in a 3D Polyline.
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Post Reply