Creating Surfaces

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Creating Surfaces

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Dec 22, 2009 12:09 pm

Can we use an existing DTM/TIN created by a different cad software in MSCAD without having to create a new DTM/TIN from that same data in MSCAD?

When we do create a new TIN it ends up being slightly different than the one that was provided.
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: Creating Surfaces

Postby rwhatman » Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:14 am

Eric Anderson wrote:Can we use an existing DTM/TIN created by a different cad software in MSCAD without having to create a new DTM/TIN from that same data in MSCAD?

When we do create a new TIN it ends up being slightly different than the one that was provided.


The short answer is NO. There suface may have made using break lines as well of point data.
You will need the raw data to make the surface and you will still not match if they did use break lines.

Almost forgot. Merry Christmas
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Re: Creating Surfaces

Postby Eric Anderson » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:09 pm

rwhatman wrote:Almost forgot. Merry Christmas


Merry Christmas! :)
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Postby Richard Sands » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:47 pm

Eric are you creating the new surface from surveyed points or using a TIN/ GRID prepared from modelling points in MSCAD?
The TIN/ GRID should honour all breaks so you should be able to get a pretty good replication of it in any program I would have thought.
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Postby Brian Sloman » Mon Dec 28, 2009 9:05 am

Hi Eric,
If your other software can export the surface in a LandXML file then you can import it into MicroSurvey CAD by going to MsPoints | Other Program Ties | LandXML Import/Export | LandXML Import. It will contain all the point and face data for every triangle in your TIN, so the surface will import into MSCAD exactly the same as it was exported.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests