Running XP on a Vista Machine

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Running XP on a Vista Machine

Postby Max » Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:53 pm

We have an AMD Athlon 64x2 Dual core processor at 2.2 GHz with 3 Gig of ram running XP professional running MSCad 2005. This machine was originally setup for the Vista operating system. We had this machine for two years now. We use this machine as a file server and to run our plotter. Just recently we started using it as a full time work station.
This machine will not plot the line widths as setup in the plot file. We use the ctb plot table. It will only plot lines from 0.35mm and up. Will not plot thinner line widths than 0.35 mm. We have reinstalled MSCad 2005, if fact we uninstalled and reinstalled it. We have not reinstalled XP Pro operating system. This would be a tremendous chore on this particular machine. Has anyone else experienced this problem and what was the fix if any?
Max
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:17 am

Re: Running XP on a Vista Machine

Postby Brian Sloman » Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:11 pm

Hi, This sounds like a bug that was fixed in MSCAD 2005 SP 1.1. Please ensure you are running the latest version, which for 2005 was SP 1.3. You can see which service pack you are running by looking in the Title Bar or the Help | About screen.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Re: Running XP on a Vista Machine

Postby Max » Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:19 am

Brian, Yes we have loaded SP-3 and I checked with the person who installed it and we also installed the service packs in the proper order, we think. We might try it one more time.
Thanks, Max
Max
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:17 am

Re: Running XP on a Vista Machine

Postby Max » Thu Jun 24, 2010 6:50 am

Hey! That worked!!!! We reinstalled 2005 and the service packs in the proper order. Now it plots like it should. The wonder of it all.
Thanks again Brian. We just need a fresh approach.
Max
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:17 am


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests