Horizontal Distances in a 3d World without inversing?

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Horizontal Distances in a 3d World without inversing?

Postby Mathew » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:48 am

Hi there

Is there a configuration setting or something somewhere to define the measured distance in the "dist" command as horizontal instead of slope? (or is there perhaps another distance command that i'm ignorant of?) i'm looking for a way to get horizontal distances between 3d points and a mixture of 3d and 2d lines without having to create points in order to complete inverses.

Thanks
Mat
Mathew
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:04 am

Re: Horizontal Distances in a 3d World without inversing?

Postby Brian Sloman » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:05 pm

Hi, You can force the DIST command to work in 2D by typing .xy before picking each point to select it with an x-y filter, this tells the program to use the x and y coordinates of the picked point, then prompt you seperately for the z coordinate at which time you can enter 0.
Code: Select all
: _DIST
Starting point for distance: .xy
Select XY of: (snap to the point with your mouse)
Still need Z of: 0
End point: .xy
Select XY of: (snap to the point with your mouse)
Still need Z of: 0
Distance = 1377.010,  Angle in XY Plane = S 87°28'59" E,  Angle from XY Plane = E
Delta X = 1375.682,  Delta Y = -60.470,  Delta Z = 0.000
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Re: Horizontal Distances in a 3d World without inversing?

Postby Mathew » Fri Aug 27, 2010 6:55 am

probably easiest to just save a copy and scalez to 0?
Mathew
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:04 am

Re: Horizontal Distances in a 3d World without inversing?

Postby Brian Sloman » Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:02 am

Or draw a temporary line between the two points, then click on it to see the CAD Lines Dialog, which shows both the slope distance and the horizontal distance (and other information).

You may want to visit http://feedback.microsurvey.com and add a feature request for the inverse command to work without needing database points.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests