CUT / FILL map

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
User avatar
hiscock_wayne
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:48 am
Location: Western Canada

CUT / FILL map

Post by hiscock_wayne » Tue Aug 02, 2011 1:38 pm

Does Microsurvey have the ability to generate a cut/fill map. (plus signs and minus signs)

Thanks

Wayne
WAYNE HISCOCK, C.E.T. / B.A

Richard Sands
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: CUT / FILL map

Post by Richard Sands » Fri Aug 12, 2011 4:18 pm

If you have a design model (surface) and a natural surface model (surface) and subtract one from the other then that generates another surface.
Its just called . and you need to Copy it and rename it otherwise it gets overwritten next time you perform an operation (modelling).
Then by setting your tolerances in contour setup so that it plots negative contours you can gerenate a set of contours that are +ve and -ve.
You can label them at your chosen spacing.

Just make sure you save your surfaces immediatley you have created them in case of crashes in which case it would all be lost.

Is that what you are wanting?

TentMonster
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: CUT / FILL map

Post by TentMonster » Thu Aug 25, 2011 6:33 am

You can also go another step with Richards instructions. You could draw a GRID of POINTS and use the AUTOP command to add them to your database. The elevation on the points will be the amount of Cut/Fill at that location.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
Engineer Technician 1
City of North Bay, Ontario

User avatar
hiscock_wayne
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:48 am
Location: Western Canada

Re: CUT / FILL map

Post by hiscock_wayne » Sun Jan 08, 2012 12:36 pm

That advice worked like a charm. Thank you gentlemen!
WAYNE HISCOCK, C.E.T. / B.A

Post Reply