Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Postby ENICLEY » Wed May 16, 2012 1:07 pm

When I create a line by cogo inverse it is 3d. Is there a toggle to make cogo lines 2d instead?
I am using MSCAD Ultimate 2010.

Thanks
ENICLEY
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 12:00 pm

Re: Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Postby Ed Gasbarre » Thu May 17, 2012 9:30 am

MSCOGO pulldown menu. CONVERT 3D Lines to 2D Lines.
Ed Gasbarre
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:26 am
Location: Wooster, Ohio, USA

Re: Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Postby ENICLEY » Thu May 17, 2012 10:08 am

Thanks for responding. I was doing the same thing with the scalez command.

Is there a way to toggle to make 2d cogo lines the default? Back in the day a cogo line was 2d.

Thanks
ENICLEY
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 12:00 pm

Re: Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Postby Richard Sands » Thu May 17, 2012 2:32 pm

COGO routines don't join in 3D but report in 3D.
If you click on such a line it gives the grade and its end point elevations but that's from the point data base information.
In reality they are 2D.

Try drawing a line and use END snap and snap to the end of a line created by COGO and then to the end of another similar point.
That line will be at elevation zero.

Is this what you are referring to ? When you see the elevations of the line when clicked on?

However if you have AutoMap lines then that depends on the settings.
But the COGO routine won't read those AutoMap settings and draw them according to the 'Join Line' options as set from there.
It will read the layer settings but not the elevation settings which is a bit confusing of logic.
And beware if you have 3D lines in AutoMap and do a scale or rotate or any combination the points move but not the 3D linework.
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Cogo lines 3d vs 2d

Postby ENICLEY » Thu May 17, 2012 2:51 pm

Thanks Richard

I see you are correct, it is a reporting an inverse with a slope but the line is at elevation zero if I list it.

Thanks to Ed Gasbarre who also replied I now know about the tool for converting 2d lines to 3d lines which will be handy at times.

Cheers!

E
ENICLEY
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 12:00 pm


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest