scaling

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

scaling

Postby Vincent Popish » Wed Dec 04, 2002 3:59 pm

Is there a way to scale a drawing with many ogbjects in it, just on the x and y axis, not on the z axis. Many of the objects have an elevation and that is what needs to stay the same, just the size or scale needs to change.

I tried scaling everything, then using the reciprocal in the scalez command to undo the change in elevation, but alas it just locks up my computer. To be fair I should mention that there are about 4000,000 objects (lines) that are affected. It is a huge tmesh covering a several square mile area.
Vince Popish
Vincent Popish
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO

Postby rwhatman » Wed Dec 04, 2002 4:44 pm

Pick on a object that is on 0.0 elevation when you
scale the drawing and it will only scale the x, and y

I usely pick on the end of a line. All my lines are on a elevation of 0.0

The only thing in my drawings that are 3d are the points.

If you just have points in the drawing you can also use the graphic editor
and put a scale on the easting and northing.

You can also do this in the Active Database well.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Scaling in X and Y only

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Dec 05, 2002 6:18 am

As Richard mentioned, when picking the Base Point to scale about, make sure that the Z=0. This way the Z will not be scaled on any of the entities.

The simple way is to type in the base point of 0,0,0 rather than attempting to pick a point on screen.

Cheers,

PS - sorry made a boo boo - it does scale the Z based upon the scale factor used and the base point. Sorry.
Last edited by Glen Cameron on Thu Dec 05, 2002 8:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

scaling

Postby Vincent Popish » Thu Dec 05, 2002 7:51 am

Please see below where I copied from mscad2002 what happens when you scale a 3dobject, ie: a line, it scales x, y and z.
notice the z also is scaled.

> LINE
From point: 10,10,10
To point: 20,20,20
To point:
> sc
> SCALE
Select objects: all
1 selected.
Select objects:
*** 1 selected. ***
Basepoint: 0,0,0
Scale factor: 2

> ze
> ZOOMFIT
Regenerating ...
> ls
> EINFO
Loading C:\MSCAD2002\COMMON\flx_einf.lsp... OK.
Select objects:
1 selected.
Select objects:
*** 1 selected. ***

===============================================
Type: LINE
Layer: TEXT
Line type: Layer's line type
Color: Layer's color
Handle ID: "A6C17F"
Length: 34.641
Thickness: 0.000
Start Point (UCS): 20.000, 20.000, 20.000
End Point (UCS): 40.000, 40.000, 40.000
Delta (UCS): 20.000, 20.000, 20.000
Start Point (WCS): 20.000, 20.000, 20.000
End Point (WCS): 40.000, 40.000, 40.000
Delta (WCS): 20.000, 20.000, 20.000
Projected length (in xy-plane): UCS: 28.284 WCS: 28.284
Angle in xy-plane: UCS: N 45d0'0" E WCS: N 45d0'0" E
Angle to xy-plane: UCS: N 54d44'8" E WCS: N 54d44'8" E
===============================================
Thanks, but this doesn't seem to work. I don't have points, I have an huge Triangleulated mesh, a TIN made of lines, that I need to scale just the x and y of.
Vince Popish
Vincent Popish
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO

No Z scaling

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Dec 05, 2002 8:29 am

Sorry about the original post - I miss understood the full story. The CAD Scale command is a full 3D scale utility. It will not assist you.

The SCALEZ command may help but as you mentioned it may also hang up on something of this size.

What may help (and does work as I just tested it here with a TIN I drew with lines), If you have a drawing of 3D linework - Use the insert command to insert that FLX into your current drawing- set the scale options for X and Y as required and leave the Z set to 1. Turn the Explode option on.

Once you have inserted the drawing it should be scaled as desired, and being it has been exploded it can now be edited as before but with the new scaling, as set.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

scaling

Postby Vincent Popish » Thu Dec 05, 2002 9:56 am

Thanks!!
Vince Popish
Vincent Popish
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO

scaling

Postby Vincent Popish » Thu Dec 05, 2002 10:44 am

Just a side note: If you check the explode box in the insert dialogue box, it automatically changes the z scale factor to match x and y. It is necassary to explode it after you insert it to have it not affect the elevations.

Thanks for the help,
Vince
Vince Popish
Vincent Popish
 
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron