Draw 2D line between two points?

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Draw 2D line between two points?

Postby cbunker » Mon Nov 10, 2003 10:24 am

Is there a way to draw a 2D line (preferably with elevation 0) between two points with different Z values? Or is the only way to get 2D lines is to draw them in 3D, and then flatten them to 2D using SCALEZ, or "onvert 3D Lines to 2D"?

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4
cbunker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

2D Lines

Postby Glen Cameron » Mon Nov 10, 2003 10:47 am

The best way to get 2D lines is to use COGO and inverse between the two points with the Draw Lines Toggle on.

example:

> cogo

Inverse:Pt..Pt/Curve Inverse:Pt..Pt..Pt
Enter From Point: <167>168..169

168 81°46'59" 21.555 5473.615 4734.764 169

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

2D Lines

Postby Richard Sands » Mon Nov 10, 2003 12:43 pm

Chris
You could also use the x,y snap mode to filter out the elevation component. You can then snap to the 'x' and 'y' postion of the node and it draws at zero elevation.
As Glen said COGO is better if you know the point numbers, but this is an alternative. You can this way draw the lines on the layer of your choice. COGO puts them on the layer set in AutoMap.
regards
Richard
Richard Sands
 

Postby rwhatman » Mon Nov 10, 2003 8:01 pm

You missed two more ways to draw a 2d line from points that are 3d.

1. Join lines by inversing Dot to Dot
This method gives you a 2d line right from the start.

2. Convert 3d to 2d
This will change any 3d line to 2d.

MicroSurvey has many ways to do a job. Its up to you find the one you like the best.

I pick number 1. as the best method.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby cbunker » Wed Nov 12, 2003 10:08 am

Thanks to everyone for your responses.

Richard - how do I turn on the x,y snap mode? I haven't been able to find anything in the menus or help system about it yet.

Thanks
Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4
cbunker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

XY Filter

Postby Glen Cameron » Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:03 pm

Top left of the side manu - XYZ and XY buttons are available there. They allow you to filter out, in conjunction with the object snaps, the portions of the coordinate.

Here is a simple example drawing a line for a point using the X,Y filter and the NOD object snap.

> LINE
From point: x,y
X-Coordinate: _nod
of object:
Y-Coordinate: _nod
of object:
To point:

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:15 pm

Just to add to what Glen said.

You have to pick the X,Y filter for ever 3d point or the line becomes 3d.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby fish » Wed Nov 12, 2003 12:26 pm

Here's what I do. In my Default Settings I set my Point Number text X and Y offests to 0, so that the insertion point of the point number has the same x,y coordinates as the node. Then when I want to draw a 2D line I snap to the insertion point of the Point Number, instead of the node.
fish
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 6:25 am
Location: Dryden, Ontario

2D LINES

Postby Richard Sands » Thu Nov 13, 2003 12:14 am

just to add to this, I would like to see a lock option on the x,y and x,y,z filters to overcome having to pick that function for every node of the line. I use this feature a lot and it is quite tedious to activate the filter for each point. One can edit a mistake by converting to a 3D view and seeing any 3D line nodes and moving them back to zero elevation.
Maybe something for future updates.
regards
Richard
Richard Sands
 

Postby rwhatman » Thu Nov 13, 2003 4:58 am

Richard

I believe we have it all right now. The join Dot to Dot program works
just the way the XY filter does only you don't have to keep picking the filter button.

There is many ways to change a 3d line to 2d line in the program.

I have never used the filter button till yesterday when I read about it. I tried it and found the problem you have with the filter.

This is a Cad function and MicroSurvey will sure to tell you that they
have no control over it.

Richard Whatman
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

2D LINES

Postby Richard Sands » Thu Nov 13, 2003 1:27 pm

Richard
I assume you are referring to 'connect_points'. This works fine, except one must use point numbers and not the nodes. There are times when I want to pick by nodes, (points close proximity - point numbers on top of each other) but yes this is a very useful feature. Maybe an option similar to COGO could be added here 'POINT', allowing the choice of Number, Range or Point?
Hope I'mnot being argumentive here?
Richard
Richard Sands
 


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron