Wrong bearings...

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Wrong bearings...

Postby Morg » Mon Dec 15, 2003 2:29 pm

Having a problem inputting bearings....I will type in N75dW and it will actually plot in N15dW. ???
A drawing was inserted and rotated 90 degrees to align properly with new data being input.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Morgan
No sig for me....
Morg
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:53 am
Location: North Bay, Ontario

bearings

Postby Glen Cameron » Mon Dec 15, 2003 8:40 pm

Are you saying that you are typing in the bearing onto a plan?
If so, to get a degree symbol you need to type in %%D. This gets converted to a degree symbol automatically (for most fonts anyway).

So if you type N75%%DW then it should appear as N75°W.

Other symbols that can also be gotten are:
± by typing %%P
ø by typing %%C

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby Morg » Tue Dec 16, 2003 4:52 am

Hi Glen,

I'm punching in the data...n75dw, the line plots, i click on it, and it reads 15d? It's plotting in the wrong direction.
No sig for me....
Morg
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:53 am
Location: North Bay, Ontario

Postby rwhatman » Tue Dec 16, 2003 4:59 am

Check UNITSETUP

Orientation - STANDARD ANGLES

Angle Direction - E
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby Morg » Tue Dec 16, 2003 12:45 pm

Thanks for the reply rwhatman. Unitsetup direction is set to E.
No sig for me....
Morg
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:53 am
Location: North Bay, Ontario

Wrong Bearings

Postby Ed Gasbarre » Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:28 pm

Check to see that ANGULAR UNITSare set to SURVEYORS UNITS.
Ed Gasbarre
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 10:26 am
Location: Wooster, Ohio, USA

Bearings

Postby Glen Cameron » Tue Dec 16, 2003 1:32 pm

Sounds like you are drawing lines using the normal LINE command using the CAD method of entry.

I would suggest trying another way - it is much easier and works like the survey commands.

CADLINES (found under the MicroSurvey menu -> Points/Lines/Curves -> CAD Lines Dialog.)

(Can also be brought up by simply picking on any line in the drawing - it shows the details of the line picked but then allows you to draw other lines as well)

This command has several buttons across the bottom that allow you to enter new lines in different methods. On the main dialog, you can control if the lines are simply drawn or if coordinates are added to the lines automatically.

There is also a CADCurves command, functioning in much the same way.

Try them out - once you see them you wil not go back, I am sure.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby Morg » Wed Dec 17, 2003 6:12 am

Thanks Glen,

I am using the LINE command. I'll explore the new way.

Morgan

(edit) - Ed, system is set to surveyor's units.
No sig for me....
Morg
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:53 am
Location: North Bay, Ontario


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron