CREATING NEW LINETYPES - 2005

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Richard Sands
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

CREATING NEW LINETYPES - 2005

Post by Richard Sands » Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:32 pm

I can't get new complex linetypes to work in 2005. The defenition keeps reverting to a standard linetype. I tried copy and paste from other standard defenitions but to no avail. I am currently editing 2004 linetypes in notepad and then getting them into 2005 via a drawing - somewhat roundabout way!.
Any suggestions greatfully appreciated
Richard

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

custom linetypes

Post by Glen Cameron » Tue Jun 07, 2005 4:45 am

I just opened the ICAD.LIN file and copied the 2 lines called GAS 1 to the bottom of the file

*GAS 1,Gas line ----GAS----GAS----GAS----GAS----GAS----GAS--
A,.5,-.2,["GAS",STANDARD,S=.1,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-.05],-.25

I then modified it as shown below, to be a line called GLEN.

*GLEN,Glen line ----GLEN----GLEN----GLEN----GLEN----GLEN----GLEN--
A,.5,-.3,["GLEN",STANDARD,S=.1,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-.05],-.45

I changed the spacing slightly being that GLEN is longer than GAS.

When I start a new drawing in 2005, the ICAD.LIN file loads automatically and the new GLEN linetype is automatically available for use.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Richard Sands
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

CREATING NEW LINETYPES

Post by Richard Sands » Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:59 pm

Gday Glen. I was trying to do this 'on the fly' in the Linetype Explorer. From Help -
1) Choose Settings > Explore Linetypes
2) Click the New Item tool
3) In the Linetype Description field, type the linetype description.
4) In the Linetype Definition field, type the linetype definition.
Its here that I cant get the line type to work.
Richard

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Linetypes

Post by Glen Cameron » Wed Jun 08, 2005 5:37 am

The complex linetype definition does not seem to be honoured unless you use the “Choose From File” option (and then pick the linetype from an existing file). If you manually type in the complex linetype definition, or paste it in, it is not maintained correctly and comes out as continuous or incorrectly dashed.

This has been reported to the IntelliCAD Technology Consortium.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Post Reply