Custom Cross Section

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Custom Cross Section

Postby dmoses » Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:15 am

Is it possible to cut a cross section along a specified line that crosses an alignment? Also, can you cut sections at specified stations and skew angles?
dmoses
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:10 am

Cross sections

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Jun 09, 2005 4:28 am

Using the line or polyline commands, you can draw a line exactly where you wish to cut a section across your surface, at any angle.

Then you use the Drape command to lay the linework on the surface - then the Flatten command to generate the section or profile, along the line.

The Drape and Flatten commands are both found under the MsModeling menu -> Design Tools.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

cross section

Postby dmoses » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:20 pm

That works like a profile. Can you make a cross section that is referenced to an alignment in this manner?
dmoses
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:10 am

x-sec

Postby Glen Cameron » Fri Jun 10, 2005 12:29 pm

Sorry - no. The cross section routine only permits even spacing, no specific stations are permitted.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

CROSS SECTIONS

Postby Richard Sands » Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:38 pm

There is a tedious work around if you realy want to be bothered. That is to use the 'Across full surface' ( _EXTRACT3 ) routine found in the Design / Autoroute menu. You can specify the interval for sectioning. It only has two options to chose the way you want cross sections generated - N-S or E-W. But (here's the tedious part) if you rotate your model to give in effect a N-S or E-W orientation for the sections you want then run that command it gives the desired effect. It does involve remodelling your job though. (unless there is a way to rotate a model in 2D mode) As said its tedious, but works.
I had put a request for user input in this routine as it make more sense to have sections generated along a line of our chosing as opposed to cardinal lines. Others may also have need for this?
Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron