Trimming and Extending in 3D

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
shamus
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:05 pm
Location: Surrey, BC

Trimming and Extending in 3D

Post by shamus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:21 am

We have picked up centerline of sidewalk and now I have to draw the sidewalk on both sides. Is there anyway to trim and extend 3d lines that do not intersect.

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

linework

Post by Glen Cameron » Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:13 am

In MSCAD2004 - not really. You could change the linework to 2D by running the SCALEZ command with a scale factor of 0.

In MSCAD2005 - it works directly wihtout having to do anything.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

shamus
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:05 pm
Location: Surrey, BC

Post by shamus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:24 am

I have tried that and it is unsuccessful. I have looked at the edgemode and projmode withour success. Is there anyway to reset everything back to the defaults.

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Thu Jul 14, 2005 9:36 am

We work in 3d all the time, but all lines are 2d in my drawings.

I use Draw by description and Join Point to Point. If you use these two
programs all your lines will be 2d from the start.

We use the 3d points to make contours.

Most of your clients will only want 2d lines as they can't work with 3d lines.

shamus
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:05 pm
Location: Surrey, BC

Post by shamus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:10 am

It works on some of the lines but doesn't work all the time and doesn't like arc- line interscections

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

MSCAD

Post by Glen Cameron » Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:29 am

Which version of MSCAD are you using?

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

shamus
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2005 8:05 pm
Location: Surrey, BC

Post by shamus » Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:25 pm

I am using MS CAD 2005

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Extend

Post by Glen Cameron » Fri Jul 15, 2005 5:16 am

I just had a client run into the same problem where a line would not extend to meet another line. He drew 2 lines off to the side and it worked fine.

His lines were 1) created via one of our survey routines (lot definition) 2) a simple drafted line. When he redrew line 1, line 2 then extended to it.

We will dig into this more, but as of right now all I can suggest is try redrawing 1 or both of the lines to see if it solves it.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Post Reply