MicroSurvey and AotoCad Land Desktop

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

MicroSurvey and AotoCad Land Desktop

Postby ivan chow » Sat Apr 10, 2004 9:58 am

May I know whether MicroSurvey and Autodesk Land Desktop are compatible? If a 3D surface created by MicroSurvey i.e. in .qsb format, how can I convert it to Land Desktop DTM format?
ivan chow

Postby rwhatman » Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:36 am

I think you have to create softdesk points in MicroSurvey for
Autodesk Land read. Autodesk creates the DTM from them.

If there is another way, maybe someone can point it out.
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

LDD support

Postby Glen Cameron » Sun Apr 11, 2004 7:06 am

MicroSurvey can save and work directly in DWG format. We can also create the standard Point Block that LDD (softdesk/DCA) has used for many years. The QSB file is not something that can be used by LDD but if you simply draw the TIN into the DWG, Softdesk can extract it to create the same TIN, very easily.

The reverse is also true - we can read the DWG files created in LDD, read the standard point blocks to create our point database, and we can extract pretty much any items in the drawing to form a TIN.

We have many customers that do work in both programs or exchange data with companies using LDD.

Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest