Editing Subdivision Palette

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
User avatar
Jack Van Beek
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:15 am

Editing Subdivision Palette

Post by Jack Van Beek » Tue May 11, 2004 11:45 am

Am having trouble editing my "subvivision" palette. The menu editor will not load this palette. I get dlg error. Probable cause is in line 29...this is what line 29 is

BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\CUL-D-S.BMP,{Create a New Cul-de-sac},[FCMD]^^calculate_culdesac


Is there any way to edit this file?

Also how does the editor work on the toolbar editor. Any documentation to be had?

Thanx...Jack

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Subdivision Palette

Post by Glen Cameron » Tue May 11, 2004 12:43 pm

I just opened mine copy here and it worked fine. I can email it to you if you wish. Send me an email to support@microsurvey.com and I will return email it to you.

There is some limited help in the DME program. Beyond this, all we have available is in the movie I created, accessable via our help file in MSCAD2004.

Here is what my Subdivision toolbar looks like when opened in Wordpad.

PALETTE
BEGIN

SETTINGS
BEGIN
Caption = "Subdivision"
Columns = 2
Lines = 7
Width = 30
Height = 30
END

BUTTONS
BEGIN
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\BLOCK.BMP, {Create a New Block for Subdividing}, [FCMD]^^Lots_and_blocks
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\A-LOTS.BMP, {Design Lots - Automated}, [FCMD]^^Lots_and_blocks
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\BLOCKREP.BMP, {Generate a Report on a Selected Block}, [FCMD]^^report_on_block
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\LOTREP.BMP, {Generate a Report for the Lots}, [FCMD]^^report_on_lot
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\LOTAREA.BMP, {Label the Lots with Lot Numbers and Areas}, [FCMD]^^label_lot_area
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\N-HOUSE.BMP, {Create a New House and Save it in the House Database}, [FCMD]^^building_library
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\HOUSELOT.BMP, {Place a Selected House on Specific Lots}, [FCMD]^^place_structure
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\H-REPORT.BMP, {Generate a Report for the Houses}, [FCMD]^^report_on_house
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\N-STREET.BMP, {Create a Street for a Center Line with Offsets}, [FCMD]^^calculate_street
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\E-STREET.BMP, {Edit an Existing Street}, [FCMD]^^ms_edit_street
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\T-INTSEC.BMP, {Create a "T" Intersection Between 2 Existing Streets}, [FCMD]^^intersect_t_street
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\X-INTSEC.BMP, {Create an "X" Intersection Between 2 Existing Streets}, [FCMD]^^intersect_x_street
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\CUL-D-S.BMP, {Create a New Cul-de-sac}, [FCMD]^^calculate_culdesac
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\EDIT-CUL.BMP, {Edit an Existing Cul-de-sac}, [FCMD]^^ms_edit_culdesac
END

END



Please note the ~\Palettes - this is what it should look like rather than being expicate like yours is.
C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES
Also - yours has a double \\ and it shouldn't.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

User avatar
Jack Van Beek
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Jack Van Beek » Tue May 11, 2004 2:01 pm

Thanx Glen. Am at home now, but will try to edit it tomorrow when I get back to the office.
Jack...

User avatar
Jack Van Beek
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:15 am

Post by Jack Van Beek » Wed May 12, 2004 7:59 am

Glen...I took the sample you posted of your palette and pasted it in and works fine now.
Curious thing...some of my palettes have c:\mscad2004\\mscad\palettes etc. while others have =~\palettes\etc...
I thought maybe it changed format after copying and pasting while creating custom palettes but that is not the case.
Here is the last one I created.

PALETTE
BEGIN

SETTINGS
BEGIN
Caption = "House Calcs"
Columns = 9
Lines = 1
Width = 28
Height = 28
END

BUTTONS
BEGIN
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\A-LOTS.BMP, {Design Lots - Automated}, [FCMD]^^Lots_and_blocks
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\BLOCKREP.BMP, {Generate a Report on a Selected Block}, [FCMD]^^report_on_block
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\LOTREP.BMP, {Generate a Report for the Lots}, [FCMD]^^report_on_lot
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\LOTAREA.BMP, {Label the Lots with Lot Numbers and Areas}, [FCMD]^^label_lot_area
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\N-HOUSE.BMP, {Create a New House and Save it in the House Database}, [FCMD]^^building_library
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\H-REPORT.BMP, {Generate a Report for the Houses}, [FCMD]^^report_on_house
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\PALETTES\HOUSELOT.BMP, {Place a Selected House on Specific Lots}, [FCMD]^^place_structure
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\Palettes\msidebdBig.BMP, {Draw Multi-sided Building}, [FCMD]^^(load "msidebd")
BITMAPBUTTON = ~\Palettes\FgXyzBig.bmp, {Coord Report}, [FCMD]^^coord_report
END

END


And here is one that is original.

PALETTE
BEGIN

SETTINGS
BEGIN
Caption = "Calcs"
Columns = 2
Lines = 9
Width = 30
Height = 30
END

BUTTONS
BEGIN
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\COGO.BMP,{Command Line COGO},[FCMD]^^COGO
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\batch.BMP,{Load Batch COGO},[FCMD]^^ms_batch
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\COGOCURV.BMP,{COGO Curve Calculations},[FCMD]^^curves
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\ON-OBJ.BMP,{Compute points on line or curve},[FCMD]^^ms_comp_points_on_line_curve
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\TURNED.BMP,{Compute by Turned Angle and Distance},[FCMD]^^ms_comp_points_turned_angle
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\STA-OFF.BMP,{Compute Points By Station / Offset off a line or curve},[FCMD]^^ms_comp_points_stn_offset
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\DOT2DOT.BMP,{Lines by Inversing (dot to dot)},[FCMD]^^connect_points
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\LINE-TAN.BMP,{Compute a Line Tangent to Curve},[FCMD]^^ms_line_tangent_curve
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\DESC2D.BMP,{Connect by Description},[FCMD]^^joindesc
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\FIT-LINE.BMP,{Compute a best fit a line through some points},[FCMD]^^ms_calc_best_fit_line
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\FIT-CURV.BMP,{Best Fit a Curve through a series of points},[FCMD]^^best_fit_curve
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\PRO-CURV.BMP,{Curve Problem Solver},[FCMD]^^(if (not f:load)(load "msdesign"));curvcalc
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\row.BMP,{Right of Way routine},[FCMD]^^right_of_way
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\CURV-TAN.BMP,{Curve Off One Tangent},[FCMD]^^arc_on_tangent
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\TANCTAN.BMP,{Curve On Two Tangents},[FCMD]^^arc_on_two_tangents
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\REVCOMP.BMP,{Reverse or Compound Curve},[FCMD]^^reverse_curve
BITMAPBUTTON =C:\MSCAD2004\\MSCAD\PALETTES\proport.BMP,{Proportion Points on a Line or Arc},[FCMD]^^do_proportion
END

END

Everything seems to work fine, so I will leave them alone.

Thanx Jack....

Post Reply