MSCAD wishlist function

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Guest

MSCAD wishlist function

Post by Guest » Wed Jul 14, 2004 6:44 am

I'm programming this in Lisp, but it would be a useful builtin function....

When renumbering points, sometimes, I just want to add a constant 'offset' to a point number range, ie Pts 1, 10, 11, 20, 25 can be renumbered by adding, say 1000 as a constant offset so they become Pts 1001, 1010, 1020, 1025.

This way, it is easier to preserve the correlation between hard copy notes and the MSCAD drawing.

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

ASCII IN

Post by Glen Cameron » Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:52 am

The ASCII in routine has an additive option to do what you are looking for. So as an option, you could do an ASCII out - then an ASCII in and add the value to the numbers as they are read in.

I know it is not what you asked for but it may help in some cases.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Vincent Popish
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO

additive point numbers

Post by Vincent Popish » Wed Jul 14, 2004 8:55 am

Hi:
There is already a way to do this. Click on any point and go to the adt point list, select the points that you want to change, then under the edit menu click on renumber and the bottom choice in the dialog box is additive, rather than just renumber, and it works fine.
thanks,
Vince Popish

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

ADT Coordinates

Post by Glen Cameron » Wed Jul 14, 2004 10:42 am

You are correct that the additive option is there as well as renumber - but you can only do one at a time.

There is always more than 1 one of doing things! Some better than others in certain situations.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Vincent Popish
Posts: 129
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2002 11:24 am
Location: Grand Junction, CO

renumber additive

Post by Vincent Popish » Wed Jul 14, 2004 12:14 pm

Hi:
It will do groups just fine. At least it works on my computer. Select the whole group of rows using the side and then use the edit/renumber command and zowie, it works.
thanks
Vince Popish

User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Jason Poitras » Wed Jul 14, 2004 1:50 pm

Hello,

Just another confirmation that you can add an additive number to multiple points in the Active Coordinate Editor. Just highlight the points you want to adjust, right click on the selection or use the Edit menu and choose the Renumber Selection command.
Jason Poitras
General Manager
jason.poitras@microsurvey.com

Scott Partridge
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:44 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Contact:

Post by Scott Partridge » Thu Jul 15, 2004 1:18 pm

Thanks for the help! These methods do the trick.

Scott

One of these days, I'll remember to login before I post a question...LOL

Post Reply