New Field Computers

Discussion of FieldGenius related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Bill Tellier
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 3:04 pm
Location: Upper Marlboro, MD., USA

New Field Computers

Post by Bill Tellier » Tue Mar 04, 2003 8:48 am

Will the Fg software run on the latest batch of 400 Mhz computers :?: and do you know when there will be a ruggedized one like the Panasonic Toughbook. As the FG program keeps getting more features you're definitely going to need faster computers.

BT

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Mar 04, 2003 9:52 am

Hello Bill,

We have customers using the current iPAQ build of FieldGenius on the new units that run the XScale (successor to StongARM) processors. No word yet on when we might see a Toughbook 01 with the XScale.

In running the product in house, the current 206Mhz processors are working well. We have found that having 64MB of RAM (instead of 32) makes a noticeable difference to performance with larger projects.

Michael O'Connor
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Nov 27, 2002 10:30 am
Location: Cary, Illinois

Post by Michael O'Connor » Tue Mar 04, 2003 3:28 pm

Have the Tech's been able to load and run FG on the new Trimble ACU?

marko
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 10:41 am

Post by marko » Wed Mar 05, 2003 4:50 pm

Hello,

To date, we have not looked too deep into building FieldGenius to run on the Trimble ACU. This will be something for us to consider after the completion and full release of FieldGenius 2.0.
Mark Cahill BCLS

Post Reply