Vista?

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Max
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:17 am

Vista?

Post by Max » Wed Dec 27, 2006 6:14 am

Are there any operational issues of MsCad 2005 running on the new Vista system?

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Glen Cameron » Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:02 am

MSCAD2005 has not been tested under Windows Vista so we do not have any information at present time to say that it does or does not work correctly and completely. You will be using it at your own risk as it was not written for Windows Vista and may crash on occation.

The next version will be completely tested and will work under Windows Vista.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

Max
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 11:17 am

Post by Max » Tue Jan 02, 2007 6:01 am

Thanks, That is good to know.
A couple of venders are selling computers with XP, but will upgrade when Vista becomes available. However, I heard that the business Vista is available now. Oh, well what ever.

CHRIS L
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:45 am
Location: ILLINOIS

Post by CHRIS L » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:08 am

I dont think I would upgrade till micrsoft gets the first update for it......I remember XP at first had many issue......mine well use a working XP till vista gets all the bugs worked out.

User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada
Contact:

Post by Brian Sloman » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:50 pm

It looks like Vista has a few limitations that anyone considering upgrading to should be aware of. Vista no longer uses ActiveSync, but a built-in program called the Windows Mobile Device Center. It appears that the WMDC can not be used to connect with devices running an operating system earlier than Windows Mobile 2003, such as Windows CE 3.0 or PocketPC v3.0. It also appears that the WMDC can not be used to connect with devices using a serial cable connection, only a USB, Bluetooth, or Infrared connection. And ActiveSync can not be installed on Vista to be used instead of the WMDC.

CHRIS L
Posts: 94
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 8:45 am
Location: ILLINOIS

Brian

Post by CHRIS L » Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:56 pm

Vista not using Active Sync is a downfall on Microsofts part. How many people are going to get screwed when they update to that and try to connect a old data collector.....ouch....

Post Reply