IntelliCAD File Save Error

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

IntelliCAD File Save Error

Postby Alex Leonard » Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:00 am

I'm trying to work with a .dwg file which I received from a civil engineering firm. It's fairly complex: 10 MB file size, with 90 layers (but almost all 2D).
The file opens up fine in MS-CAD 2005 SP1.3 (with some font substitutions) and displays well. In fact I can manipulate, measure and add and delete data and layers as usual, but when I try to save the file (edited or not) - either using the original filename or a SAVEAS, I receive an error message:
"IntelliCad
Error: Invalid input.
Your file could not be saved
\path\filename.dwg"

If I try to open the resulting file, I am notified that the file is corrupted. A subsequent recovery operation fails.

Anyone have a similar experience. Solution?

Thanks in advance.
Alex.
Alex Leonard
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Kona, Hawaii

Postby Richard Sands » Thu Apr 05, 2007 1:55 am

has the dwg got any 'Proxies'? They can cause no end of headaches when bought into MSCAD. If so can theys send you a version without them?
I've had similar messages and corrupted files from ones sent to me.
regards Richard
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Apr 05, 2007 4:51 am

This is dicussed in our helpdesk in the trouble shooter at this location:
http://www.microsurvey.com/helpdesk/ind ... oterid=560
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby Alex Leonard » Thu Apr 05, 2007 9:26 am

Richard and Glen, thanks for the replies

Glen's fix works!
In a nutshell, the solution is to "Zoom Extents" before saving.
I would never have figured that out on my own.

BTW, the helpfile also says not to exit the program after receiving that error message and before Zooming out and saving again, otherwise you loose the changes. I can confirm this. :(


But now I'm Happy Happy. :D
Thanks guys
Alex
Alex Leonard
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 7:47 pm
Location: Kona, Hawaii

Postby cbunker » Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:20 am

I had this problem as well. On one of my drawings, zooming extents still wouldn't allow me to save, but if I zoomed out even further (so that my drawing only took up perhaps 20% of the screen area), I could save OK.

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4
cbunker
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest