COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
Richard Sands
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Post by Richard Sands » Thu Jun 07, 2007 2:34 pm

I'd suggest a message similar to copying points, copying between drawings etc for this. I see it 'as is' as quite useful but unless ther's a warning then one can get confused or misled.
regards, Richard

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Re: COGO - 2 DRAWINGS OPEN

Post by rwhatman » Fri Jun 08, 2007 4:20 am

Richard Sands wrote:I'd suggest a message similar to copying points, copying between drawings etc for this. I see it 'as is' as quite useful but unless ther's a warning then one can get confused or misled.
regards, Richard
Hi Richard

You never copy points, you transfer points.

Points are in the database and to get them to a database you transfer.

If you copy points thats graphic, they go in the drawing, but not into
Database.

We still have 2 programs that work together. Till the day we have 1
program, then copy past will never work as many would like.

Back 10 years ago I had 3 program that work together and I miss it at times.

Richard Sands
Posts: 425
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Post by Richard Sands » Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:40 pm

yes youre spot on and no, I never transfer points that way.
But, if you try to, or inadvertantly grab an elevation or description and copy between open jobs then that warning is invoked. Thats the warning I'd suggest in the COGO issue raised previously.
The 'Modify/ Copy (between drawings)' option was put there to avoid some hangups by the CAD method of copy and paste between drawings. Its a safe and useful routine, but still not for copying data base points.
regards, Richard

Post Reply