Invalid 2d Polylines

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Invalid 2d Polylines

Postby R.S. Crispin » Tue May 13, 2003 1:58 pm

I saved a MSCAD2002 drawing as ACAD 2000 file. When I open .dwg in Map 6 I get the following error message ( others get the same error message): "Invalid 2d Polylines present in drawing. 3d Vertex present in 2d Polyline. Run audit to fix current drawing." I run audit and get a fatal error evert time. How can I fix this?
R.S. Crispin
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 10:40 am
Location: WA

Polylines

Postby Scott Partridge » Tue May 13, 2003 3:27 pm

There may be a more elegant and direct solution, but I would hazard a guess that if you saved the MSCAD 2002 project as an AutoCAD 14 DWG file, then opened it in Map 6, the error would go away.
Scott Partridge
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:44 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta

Invalid 2d Polylines

Postby R.S. Crispin » Tue May 13, 2003 3:54 pm

Scott,
Nope, it didn't work. I still get that message. Any other suggestions?
Anyone? My client's architect is concerned about the message and is requesting that it be repaired.
Rod
R.S. Crispin
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 10:40 am
Location: WA

Invalid 2d Polylines

Postby Scott Partridge » Tue May 13, 2003 4:21 pm

It occurs to me that there was a post on the forum about a year ago that mentioned this error message. If I recall, it might have been a bug in the version of MSCAD out at the time. Are you up to date with the service patch releases available on the site? It is up to service pack 3 now for MSCAD 2002.

I do not know if that will fix your specific problem, but it certainly wouldn't hurt.
Scott Partridge
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 11:44 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta

pline error

Postby Glen Cameron » Tue May 13, 2003 5:15 pm

In cases like this you can save the job in R12 DWG format and the issue is normally solved. It is a bug in the CAD engine and was passed on to the developers of the CAD engine. I do not believe that SP#3 or SP#4 (beta) has this solved completly as yet.

Cheers,
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Tue May 13, 2003 5:28 pm

Scott
Your first answer was almost right.

Save your file to Autocad 12 will do it. All Autocad versions above 12
don't like contours or any polyline smoothed.

My guess is that in version 12 that method of smoothing a polyline
was the way to do it.

AutoCAD Versions above 12 used another method.

So this is my theroy. I may be wrong, but I do know that you
will not have any problems if you save to AutoCAD12.

Autocad 2000 will read it just fine and you won't get any error
measages.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Invalid 2d Polylines

Postby R.S. Crispin » Wed May 14, 2003 7:27 am

Yup, that worked.
Thanks very much.
Rod
R.S. Crispin
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2002 10:40 am
Location: WA

Re: Invalid 2d Polylines

Postby Rickquin65 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:27 am

Hey guys, thanks for putting this info out there! I was having the same issues. Recovery and audit would just Fatal Error, then to top it off my Autocad '04 would lock up and I would have to reboot. Have been trying to resolve this for the last 4 hours or so. Gave the save as a '12 version a try and voila!! No more "Invalid 2d Polylines present in drawing\n3d Vertex present in 2d Polyline.\n\nRun audit to fix current drawing"!!!
Thanks again "rwhatman"

Rick
Rickquin65
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:33 am


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron