font Size

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

font Size

Postby rwhatman » Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:48 am

Are plotter just died after 13 yrs.

I sent my drawing to someone that had MScad2008 .
They have a old HP.

The drawing came back and some text was plotted too large and one
line of text was smaller.

In the past what you see is what you get from the plotter.

We will have to get a new plotter.

Ok here the Question. The font issue, Mscad 2008 or Plotter that sets size
of fonts.

I am guessing that what I see still works for all new plotters.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

FONTS

Postby Richard Sands » Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:12 am

One (obvious) question is - did they have the same fonts on their system as yours?
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: FONTS

Postby rwhatman » Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:38 am

Richard Sands wrote:One (obvious) question is - did they have the same fonts on their system as yours?


They had the fonts that came with Mscad2008 as thats the program
they use.

The drawing was drawn with Mscad2005 with the fonts that came with it.

The fonts that came MsCad2002 where different then 2005.

If you where to open drawing AutoCAD 2008 the fonts would be defferent
again.

Thats why I did not send the drawing that has AutoCAD.
Mscad2008 may now be using the same fonts that AutoCAD2008.

In the past they did not use the same fonts. MicroSurvey had there own fonts.
Just when you send the drawing to another client that is not MicroSurvey
did the font issue show up.

I have made a few adjustsments so MsCAD2008 can plot fonts ok.

So I have solved the problem. It would nice in the future that there would
a standard font set that no matter what program looks at it it will look the same.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby rwhatman » Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:17 pm

Ok I have looked at what font is the problem.

Simplex font

Easy to check write with 2005 program and view with 2008.

If you where to change Simplex font Width less the 1 (0.93) it displays larger.

Yet if you change the width larger then 1 it seems ok.

Simplex with 1 or more spaces between them, the spaces are no
longer take the same width as the text.
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby ianw2 » Wed Mar 12, 2008 5:07 pm

This is the exact reason that any drawing that goes out of our office goes out as a PDF file. And we send plenty of drawings out for printing.

No one seems to have been able to figure out a way to submit drawings to the local agencies in any other format than paper. To add insult, the local county requires 40, yes four-zero, copies of tentative maps that we submit. And, that’s 40 copies every time there’s a revision to that map, too! As a consequence, once I’m happy with the product, I send it to our local reprographic house as a PDF file for printing, collating, stapling and folding.

PDF writers are cheap. When you think about it, a full-blown copy of Adobe Acrobat is not that expensive, either.

I continue to lobby for an internal PDF writer in MSCAD. Until we get one, Adobe does quite nicely.

Oh…it prevents problems with fonts, line weights, styles, etc., too! It even cures athlete’s foot, halitosis and the embarrassment of psoriasis.:P

Ian
Ian Wilson
Ian Wilson Land Surveying, Inc.
Temecula CA 92591
(951) 684-1044
ianw2
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:45 am
Location: Temecula, California

Postby rwhatman » Thu Mar 13, 2008 3:55 am

Thanks Ian

I thought about PDF and I do have it. I can make PDF in MicroSurvey.
We have sent out PDF to print.

I got a version that has many option that I payed for.
You can get the PDF driver free off the internet that works with MicroSurvey. Just does not have as many print size options.

It was many my little test see if Mscad2008 had any problems
plotting and now I know.

By the way what plotter are you using. I am looking at HP500 and HP800
There are so many types not sure what I want.

It only has to be fast, never need repairs and last 7yrs. 40yrs in Surveying is enough. :)
rwhatman
 
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Postby ianw2 » Thu Mar 13, 2008 6:58 am

have an HP 488CA. I've had this beast for about 7 years.

I can't imagine how many thousands of feet of paper and mylar have rolled through it or how many gallons of ink have been sprayed from it's nozzles.

I have had service people out to work on it a total of twice. Once was to install more memory and the second time was to replace the drive belt that simply wore out from use.

I've had other plotters or other brands. Not one of them has lasted as long or been as reliable as this one.

When I find a winner, I tend to stick with it. My next plotter will be an HP, too.

I'm only 20 years into my career as a land surveyor. Although I love what I do, I would really like to be retired in another 10 years or so living in a tropical climate near the water diving every day with my favorite dive partner, Laura (my wife). :)

OK. Time to head off to the field to locate yet another piece of property being subdivided....
Ian Wilson
Ian Wilson Land Surveying, Inc.
Temecula CA 92591
(951) 684-1044
ianw2
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2002 6:45 am
Location: Temecula, California


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

cron