MSCAD 2005 fresh install - "access denied"

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

MSCAD 2005 fresh install - "access denied"

Post by cbunker » Wed May 21, 2008 5:07 am

I've replaced my home PC (was XP Pro SP2) with a new one running XP Home SP2 recently, and installed MSCAD 2005 on it so that I've be able to check out my work licence from time to time and do some work at home.

However, when I try to run MSCAD, all I get is an error message that pops up saying "Access is denied" - I click OK, the message box goes away, and MSCAD does not start. I've removed and reinstalled MSCAD several times, in several ways - the last was with my firewall and antivirus completely unloaded. All installations have been using my userid, which is an administrator of my PC. This happens with both SP1.2 (the version on the CD we have) of MSCAD 2005, and with SP1.3 applied.

I do note that, for some reason, C:\Program Files\Microsurvey is showing as being read-only - I don't know why this is, but the same thing appears here at work, and MSCAD works fine for me here.

Any thoughts? Is it XP Home vs XP Pro?

Thanks,
Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Fri May 23, 2008 4:12 am

I have both versions running both MScad2005 with no problem.

I had a crash at work , short story got a new computer.

Had install MScad 2005 and could not get it to work from disk after
applying patches.

Down loaded full version of Mscad2005 from Microsurvey and had no problems running in XP Pro.

Try a full download into your home computer should work.

If not go to Support Desk for help. They can walk you though it.

cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

Post by cbunker » Fri May 23, 2008 4:17 am

Thanks, I'll give that a shot tonight.

Chirs
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

Post by cbunker » Mon May 26, 2008 4:08 am

No luck with the downloaded version either. I tried this same version on an older PC I have at home - no problems installing and running in demo mode there. Any other thoughts?

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

rwhatman
Posts: 299
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2002 6:41 am
Location: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

Post by rwhatman » Tue May 27, 2008 4:05 am

cbunker wrote:No luck with the downloaded version either. I tried this same version on an older PC I have at home - no problems installing and running in demo mode there. Any other thoughts?

Chris
You say works on older PC, ok I think I get it.

2005 does not let move the lience back and forth. When you move lience
to another computer. Your work PC will nolonger work ever with MSCAD2005

Changing lience is a one time deal

You have to get a new key password from MicroSurvey.

If this is the problem go to help Desk.

cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

Post by cbunker » Tue May 27, 2008 4:32 am

I don't think it's a licence issue - I never get that far. I should be able to run 2005 in demo mode, for as long as I want, I think. A second after I double-click the MSCAD2005 icon, I get the "access is denied" message - nothing to do with the licence.

I should be able to install MSCAD at home, use the checkout option here at work and temporarily (ie overnight) transfer my licence home - it will expire at midnight, and my work PC will be ready for me the next morning when I get to work. That's how I've used it since we moved to v2005, and it's worked well.

Both of my home PCs have fresh installs of XP - no remnants of an old installation of MSCAD are left on either one.

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

Glen Cameron
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by Glen Cameron » Tue May 27, 2008 5:40 am

This actually sounds more like a user permissions issue. Check to ensure that you are the admin user or equivalent, and try it again.
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario

cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

Post by cbunker » Thu May 29, 2008 5:07 am

No luck - my userid is a local admin, and I get the same result when logged in as the Administrator user.

Just as a test, I downloaded and installed the v2008 demo - works without a hitch, of course!

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

cbunker
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 7:22 pm

Post by cbunker » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:50 pm

OK, I finally got it to work - I thought I had fully disabled my antivirus and firewall (both from Comodo) before installing, and even afterwards when I tried to run MSCAD, but perhaps not. When I told my firewall explicitly that it was OK to run MSCAD (and any associated files), it finally worked. Thanks for the suggestions.

This now brings me to my next problem - getting the transfer.lic to work - see my next post!

Chris
Chris Bunker, BMath, O.L.S., C.L.S.
T. A. Bunker Surveying Ltd.
150 John St. N., P.O. Box 1180
Gravenhurst, ON P1P 1V4

Post Reply