Point Groups

Discussion of MicroSurvey inCAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Point Groups

Postby Paul Pitts jr. » Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:09 am

I would like to creat point groups based on their descriptions and have these points go to a specific layer. Then be able to update the point group as new points are added to the file. How can I do this?
Paul Pitts jr.
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 6:41 am
Location: Pascagoula, MS

Postby johnnyhatesjazz » Thu Feb 05, 2009 12:51 pm

How about using the Active CoOrdinate Editor...sort by description, then select the group of points with the same description, right click and 'Change Selection Layer'. Sort of does some of what you want??
Cheers,

John (UK InCad user...waiting on MsCAD 2009!)
Never knowingly understood
johnnyhatesjazz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:18 am
Location: U.K.

Postby Glen Cameron » Thu Feb 05, 2009 1:51 pm

Another option might be to use our AutoMAP routine to control the layers points are placed on based upon the descriptions. If new points are added to the job, they will automatically be layered based upon the AutoMAP library having an entry that matches the description.
Glen W. Cameron, C.E.T.
City of North Bay, Ontario
Glen Cameron
 
Posts: 1395
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2002 12:18 pm
Location: Corbeil, Ontario, Canada

Postby johnnyhatesjazz » Fri Feb 06, 2009 11:58 am

Of course..much neater way of doing it. Reminds me I must spend some time setting Automap up properly!
Never knowingly understood
johnnyhatesjazz
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 1:18 am
Location: U.K.


Return to MicroSurvey inCAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron