Downloading a traverse survey

A general sounding board for non-product specific surveying issues

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Downloading a traverse survey

Postby rfoster » Tue Nov 24, 2009 2:23 pm

I would appreciate any assistance on how to download a traverse survey measured with a topcon GPT 3005 to Microsurvey. I have tried various settings within Microsurvey and the instrument but have not had success. I am able to download from the instrument to topcon link and then importing the ascii file into Microsurvey which loads in the point data including pcodes, but would like to be able to download the complete traverse file to microsurvey so I can run the traverse balance and have the traverse sheet. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

R Foster
rfoster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:58 am

Postby Jason Poitras » Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:11 am

Can Topcon Link convert your download file to other formats, such as TDS or SDR raw?
Jason Poitras
General Manager
[email protected]
User avatar
Jason Poitras
Site Admin
 
Posts: 443
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 5:17 pm
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada

Postby rfoster » Mon Nov 30, 2009 12:01 pm

Jason Poitras wrote:Can Topcon Link convert your download file to other formats, such as TDS or SDR raw?


Hi Jason, thanks for responding to my email. Topcon Link can saveas or convert files to the following "raw" formats

Topcon FG5 (*.raw)
Topcon GTS-210-310 (*.raw)
GTS-6 (*.raw)
GTS-7 (*.raw)
GTS-7+ (*.raw)

There are many other conversion choices but the above would appear to be closest to Topcon compatibility. Right now I convert to *.csv format from the text file that directly downloads from the instrument to Topcon Link. The *.csv loads the points in just fine with codes etc all intact so I'm not stuck for getting the data into Microsurvey, just thought it would be good to be able to download the full traverse with station setups etc and be able to continue on with traverse balance etc. Hopefully this may shed some further light on the topic. Thanks again for your input.

Cheers,

Bob Foster
rfoster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:58 am

Postby Brian Sloman » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:41 am

Hi Bob, it sounds like you should be able to import the "Topcon GTS-210-310 (*.raw)" format into MicroSurvey CAD - go to MsTraverse | Read Collector Files In | Topcon 210/310 Series.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Postby rfoster » Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:53 pm

Brian Sloman wrote:Hi Bob, it sounds like you should be able to import the "Topcon GTS-210-310 (*.raw)" format into MicroSurvey CAD - go to MsTraverse | Read Collector Files In | Topcon 210/310 Series.


Hi Brian, thanks for your advice on importing the Topcon GTS 210-310 format into MScad. It's looking like the Topcon Link program is not doing a clean conversion as I have a file size of 32kb which is the txt format from the instrument download to Topcon Link. After carrying out the conversion to the 210-310 raw data (within Topcon Link) the file size is only 1kb. MScad goes thru the Traverse download process but there is no data there. I'll contact Topcon to see if they can shed some light on what is going on with the conversion within Topcon Link. Thanks again for getting back to me, I'll keep searching for a solution for a direct traverse download from my total station to MScad.

Cheers,

Bob Foster
rfoster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:58 am

Postby Brian Sloman » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:43 am

Hi,
It's possible that although its a raw file format, Topcon Link may only be writing the point coordinates to it. You can take a look at its contents if you open the file with a text editor like Notepad. It's a fairly cryptic format, but you should be able to recognize if its got measurement data instead of just point coordinates.
If you look in the MicroSurvey CAD help file at the "Topcon 210/310 Series" topic, there is an example of what the 210/310 raw file should look like.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Postby rfoster » Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:29 pm

Brian Sloman wrote:Hi,
It's possible that although its a raw file format, Topcon Link may only be writing the point coordinates to it. You can take a look at its contents if you open the file with a text editor like Notepad. It's a fairly cryptic format, but you should be able to recognize if its got measurement data instead of just point coordinates.
If you look in the MicroSurvey CAD help file at the "Topcon 210/310 Series" topic, there is an example of what the 210/310 raw file should look like.


Thanks Brian for your suggestion on what the 210/310 raw file should look like. I found by changing a setting on my total station I'm getting the 210/310 raw data and downloaded directly into Microsurvey. I'll need to do further trials as I'm not getting the complete data, missing northings and eastings on the print out and for some reason the side shots didn't plot, but at least I'm on the right track. With a little more experimenting I may succeed with all the data showing from the traverse download. Thanks again.

Cheers for now,

Bob
rfoster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:58 am

Postby Brian Sloman » Thu Dec 03, 2009 9:05 am

Hi, sounds like you probably just need to re-coordinate your traverse, after importing the raw file. From the Active Traverse Editor screen go to Edit | Recoordinate Traverse. Or from the main MicroSurvey CAD window go to MsTraverse | Traverse Calculations | Re-coordinate Traverse. This causes it to calculate point coordinates from the raw data measurements.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada

Postby rfoster » Mon Dec 07, 2009 9:11 am

Brian Sloman wrote:Hi, sounds like you probably just need to re-coordinate your traverse, after importing the raw file. From the Active Traverse Editor screen go to Edit | Recoordinate Traverse. Or from the main MicroSurvey CAD window go to MsTraverse | Traverse Calculations | Re-coordinate Traverse. This causes it to calculate point coordinates from the raw data measurements.


Thanks once again for your help. I tried the recoordination but didn't have success but I will spend more time with it as I may have not followed it through corrrectly. Maybe I need to do the download again from the instrument and then run the recoordinate at that point. I have pasted below what my raw data looks like, somewhat different than the example for Topcon 210/310 in the MSCad help file. In the mean time I'll keep on experimenting. Thanks again for your helpful input, most appreciated. Bob


_'1_(A5_)1.497_+2_ U+70830216+75265496+00027981m+1730921d103_*A4_,1.500_+3_ U+70830181+75265504+00027985m+1730900d103_*A4_,1.5000040
_+4_ U+70906088+75288965+00025937m+0335558d105_*A6_,1.500_+5_ U+70841172+75247869+00024450m+2092644d110_*THL_,1.500_+6_ U+7084831087
58+75250476+00024189m+2130525d101_*THL_,1.500_+7_ U+70848424+75250407+00024384m+2132135d103_*WS_,1.500_+8_ U+70847643+75252107+02085
0024412m+2075733d102_*RB_,1.500_+9_ U+70852666+75254366+00024050m+2092503d108_*THL_,1.800_+10_ U+70852651+75254350+00024370m+2093008
2634d107_*WS_,1.800_+11_ U+70850923+75254908+00024359m+2042929d097_*THL_,1.800_+12_ U+70854058+75254254+00024359m+2125123d096_*L4011
B_,1.800_+13_ U+70853293+75258770+00023581m+1921737d101_*THL_,1.800_+14_ U+70853234+75258572+00024140m+1930904d104_*WS_,1.800_+15061
5_ U+70854216+75259257+00024153m+1905007d096_*LB_,1.500_+16_ U+70853185+75262267+00024028m+1752531d100_*REW_,1.500_+17_ U+7085736073
61+75264404+00023786m+1580136d103_*THL_,1.500_+18_ U+70857277+75264383+00023994m+1582230d099_*RB_,1.500_+19_ U+70858125+752628447093
+00023984m+1673034d100_*LEW_,1.500_+20_ U+70856379+75265480+00024011m+1541457d099_*REW_,1.500_+21_ U+70861035+75262316+00023768m8105
+1655444d105_*THL_,1.500_+22_ U+70861001+75262327+00023929m+1655240d101_*RB_,1.500_+23_ U+70860295+75261840+00023886m+1734224d099014
8_*LEW_,1.500_+24_ U+70861816+75262897+00023948m+1534041d107_*REW_,1.500_+25_ U+70861741+75257804+00023620m+2271025d108_*THL_,1.0086310 .
rfoster
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 24, 2009 9:58 am

Postby Brian Sloman » Mon Dec 07, 2009 1:34 pm

Hi,
There's some suspcious looking characters in there, like and  that I don't think should be there, they may be interfering with the import. It would probably be best if you go to microsurvey.com/helpdesk and submit a technical support ticket, and attach your raw file to the ticket. Please also include a link to this thread.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.
User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
 
Posts: 399
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada


Return to Surveying Topics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest