Area display - sq. m. to m2

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Post Reply
survey1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 9:06 am

Area display - sq. m. to m2

Post by survey1 » Tue Jun 15, 2010 1:27 pm

Instead of dislaying an area value in sq. m. I would like to display it as m2, with the 2 shown above the m (superscript text). I can not find a way to do this in the text mode. Any idea how this can be done. Thanks.

User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Area display - sq. m. to m2

Post by Brian Sloman » Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:21 pm

Hi, you can go to MsAnnotate | Labeling Defaults | Lots and Areas. In the "Square Measurement Units" section, change the Suffix from " sq.m." to "m²". You can type the 2 as a superscript by holding down the alt key while keying in the number 0178. Please note however that because this is a special character it is not supported in all font files, including the default msurvey.shx font - so you need to then also use the MsAnnotate | Fonts/Style command and change the AREA_STYLE font to something like Arial. Most truetype fonts should work, but you can experiment to find one you like.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.

survey1
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 26, 2006 9:06 am

Re: Area display - sq. m. to m2

Post by survey1 » Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:03 pm

Thanks for your help. Problem solved.

Paul Lewis...

grainger
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 9:01 pm

Re: Area display - sq. m. to m2

Post by grainger » Thu Nov 25, 2010 11:54 pm

Is there a similar key sequence for cubic meters?

User avatar
Brian Sloman
Product Manager
Posts: 407
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Westbank, BC, Canada
Contact:

Re: Area display - sq. m. to m2

Post by Brian Sloman » Fri Nov 26, 2010 3:40 pm

Hi, yes Alt-0179 will usually do a "cubed" symbol. (Although note that not all fonts will support all characters). In general, you can use the Microsoft "Character Map" application (Start | Programs | Accessories | Character Map) or Run charmap.exe to see the keystroke for any ascii character.
Brian Sloman
Development Manager
MicroSurvey Software Inc.

Post Reply