Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby pdanforth » Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:58 am

While I was adding side shots to my completed traverse, the MSCAD13 SP2 crashed. I found the recovered file with all the points and other data intact, but it was only visually intact. Upon checking the Active Coordinate Editor, no points were listed. No problem, just repopulate using the the Database Utilities under "MsPoints" to update the DB from the Drawing. I tried several times doing it by selection, by All and none of my attempts were successful. Any help as to what I am doing wrong would be great OR if there is a work-around?
Paul P. Danforth
HNTB Corporation
2 Thomas Drive
Westbrook, ME 04092
207-774-5155 (Ext. 230)
207-772-7410 (Fax)
www.hntb.com
pdanforth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 2:29 pm

Re: Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:15 am

There is a backup database file called [File Name].mbz in the same folder as the cad file (.dwg) and the database file (.msz). You can rename the backup database file to .msz and it should contain most if not all of your points.

FYI - the .bak file is the backup cad file.

MicroSurvey File Example.JPG
MicroSurvey File Example.JPG (86.94 KiB) Viewed 2132 times
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby pdanforth » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:46 am

Thanks for such a quick reply, Eric, it is appreciated. Your info will be most helpful to me on another occasion I am sure.

I checked and there is no *.mbz file for that CAD file, which is a bit odd since other CAD files do and I couldn't tell you why it doesn't. I also noticed there is no *.bak,
which maybe tells me the crash occurred prior to the autosave, so none of these files were created? Very strange anyway.

I am likely going to have to redo it, which is always annoying. Thanks again.
Paul P. Danforth
HNTB Corporation
2 Thomas Drive
Westbrook, ME 04092
207-774-5155 (Ext. 230)
207-772-7410 (Fax)
www.hntb.com
pdanforth
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 2:29 pm

Re: Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby saltitone » Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:47 am

I have had some success by performing an audit. To do this at the command line type "audit". When asked to "Fix any errors detected?", enter N. Then if the audit reports errors you can scroll the command lines up or press f2 to see the command history which displays the found errors. You can then choose whether to fix the errors or not. I then close MSCAD and save the drawing. I then restart MSCAD and using Microsurvey Project Manager I turn on "Audit database and drawing on load" and open the drawing. It will then let you know if there are any errors.

Hope this helps.
saltitone
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:46 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Nov 05, 2013 8:51 am

Did you try to Re-Coordinate Traverse?
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: Unrecognized Points in the Active Coordinate Editor

Postby saltitone » Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:55 am

I lost points doing routine cogo from the command line. I was not doing anything with the traverse editor.
saltitone
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 12:46 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron