MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Discussion of MicroSurvey CAD related issues and questions.

Moderators: Brian Sloman, Jason Poitras, James Johnston

MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:22 am

Is there a way to have MSCAD 2013 open an Entity Property window when you double click on a string of text with grips on? I really enjoyed that functionality in MSCAD 2010.

Is there a way to change the rotation of text while in the Entity Property window using anything other than degrees? I can put in N 45 E and the text will rotate, but if I were to try to get the text rotated N 45 degrees 12 minutes 30 seconds E, the text will just revert to E. I've tried typing in N 45.1230 E, N 45 12 30 E.

Any chance of reverting the Entity Property window to be similar to the way it is in MSCAD 2010? IMO, MSCAD 2010 window is easier to use and more user friendly.

Another annoying thing about MSCAD 2013 Entity Property window: When you go to change the layer, the drop down always goes to the top of the list! I liked that in MSCAD 2010 the drop down list starts at the items current layer.

MSCAD 2013 Text Window with Grips.JPG
MSCAD 2013 Text Window with Grips.JPG (30.84 KiB) Viewed 13126 times


MSCAD 2010 Entity Properties with Grips.JPG
MSCAD 2010 Entity Properties with Grips.JPG (57.37 KiB) Viewed 13126 times


MSCAD 2013 Entity Property Window.JPG
MSCAD 2013 Entity Property Window.JPG (54.38 KiB) Viewed 13126 times
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby raconsultnv » Thu Nov 01, 2012 3:53 pm

I am with you Eric. I have stopped using 2013.
RA
raconsultnv
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:10 am

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby TentMonster » Fri Nov 09, 2012 1:12 pm

Maybe try typing the following?

N45d12'30"E

I am not sure if this is correct but it is worth trying.

Cheers,
Glen
TentMonster
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2011 12:32 pm

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Nov 13, 2012 1:07 pm

TentMonster wrote:Maybe try typing the following?

N45d12'30"E

I am not sure if this is correct but it is worth trying.

Cheers,
Glen


Ok, typing N45d12'30"E did work, however if you put spaces in there like n 45d 12' 30" e, it won't work.
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:01 am

Hopefully the Entity Property window in MSCAD2013 will be reverted back to like it was in MSCAD2010. I really, really hate (with a passion!) MSCAD2013's Entity Property window (probably because I'm use to 2010's :P ). :x
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Fri Apr 19, 2013 9:06 am

Eric Anderson wrote:Is there a way to have MSCAD 2013 open an Entity Property window when you double click on a string of text with grips on? I really enjoyed that functionality in MSCAD 2010.

Any chance of reverting the Entity Property window to be similar to the way it is in MSCAD 2010? IMO, MSCAD 2010 window is easier to use and more user friendly.


This!

MSCAD2013 v13.2.3 Entity Property window is still annoying. :(
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Mon May 06, 2013 7:01 am

After working with MSCAD2013 v13.0.1.3 for a few weeks now, I can honestly say that I still DO NOT CARE for its Entity Property Window. Especially when you double click on a string of text with grips on!

Hoping for a revert back to MSCAD2010 Entity Property Window!

I know it probably will never happen though. :(

"You can hope (wish) in one hand and crap (shit) in the other and see which one fills up first."
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Nov 05, 2013 7:33 am

Eric Anderson wrote:Is there a way to have MSCAD 2013 open an Entity Property window when you double click on a string of text with grips on? I really enjoyed that functionality in MSCAD 2010.

Any chance of reverting the Entity Property window to be similar to the way it is in MSCAD 2010? IMO, MSCAD 2010 window is easier to use and more user friendly.

Another annoying thing about MSCAD 2013 Entity Property window: When you go to change the layer, the drop down always goes to the top of the list! I liked that in MSCAD 2010 the drop down list starts at the items current layer.


Still enjoy MSCAD 2010 Entity Property Window more than MSCAD 2013 Entity Property Window. :P
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:49 am

Is the MSCAD 2014 Entity Property window being reverted to be like it is in MSCAD 2010?

Hopefully! :P
Last edited by Eric Anderson on Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby surveyor6925 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:46 pm

I agree with Eric.
Tim Riley
surveyor6925
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 4:03 am
Location: Norwalk, Ohio

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Eric Anderson » Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:04 am

Eric Anderson wrote:Is there a way to have MSCAD 2013 open an Entity Property window when you double click on a string of text with grips on? I really enjoyed that functionality in MSCAD 2010.

Any chance of reverting the Entity Property window to be similar to the way it is in MSCAD 2010? IMO, MSCAD 2010 window is easier to use and more user friendly.

Another annoying thing about MSCAD 2013 Entity Property window: When you go to change the layer, the drop down always goes to the top of the list! I liked that in MSCAD 2010 the drop down list starts at the items current layer.


Still enjoy MSCAD 2010 Entity Property Window more than MSCAD 2014 Entity Property Window. :P
Eric Anderson
Senior Survey Technician
Olmsted County Public Works
Rochester, MN
User avatar
Eric Anderson
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2003 11:25 am
Location: Rochester, MN

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby Richard Sands » Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:17 pm

Eric have you tried having the Properties open and docked to the side of screen?
That actually is a very powerful tool, with far more editing capability that the old way.
You can left drag across something and change all manner of attributes including radius , coordinates, linetype, text style, colours, text size, orientation etc.
That also allows you to globally change a whole range of selected objects all in one swoop.
Something you can't do the old way.

I wouldn't live without it and once understood the Properties area is easy to use.
I'd encourage you to give it a serious workout.
Richard Sands
 
Posts: 424
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:10 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: MSCAD 2013 Entity Property

Postby raconsultnv » Wed Dec 03, 2014 5:25 pm

ERIC:
I agree with Richard ...... when I finally figured out how to use it the correct way it, it is a better function than the old way.
RA
raconsultnv
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 7:10 am


Return to MicroSurvey CAD

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest